Seven-Up® Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T... and found that the bottom (or the top when you flipped it out of the cake pan) was REALLY pale. I have calibrated my oven, so the temperature is exact. Not sure what happened there. My cake is two toned at this point, and this has NEVER happened to me before with a 7 Up cake. I give it 3 stars because the technique is easy, the batter comes out light and airy and the cake itself has a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My mother made it when I was a kid and now I've passed it on to my daughter. Gotta love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
we made this for thank giving my family loved and for the kid cupcake it awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnya akil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This cake is wonderful as is. Sometimes, I'll add a little lemon and lime zest to the cake. Sometimes, I'll make a glaze of powdered sugar, lemon-lime soda, and lemon and lime zest. That's just my personal taste. Again, the 5 stars are for the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele2022
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe I added coke instead of 7 up and I put a teaspoon vanilla and a teaspoon rum extract and I made a caramel glaze and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is a great cake. My family and friends love it and so do I. I also understand fully why you do the butter and sugar for 20 minutes. It really does make a difference. I am a Chef and I just want to say this is now my go to cake when I want to make something good and easy for a small event. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I LOVE this Cake and so do my Family, Friends, and Co-workers. I made it the first time and followed the recipe exactly. I came out perfect. The next time I made it I used Jamaican Ginger Beer (a very strong Ginger ale) in place of the 7-up. I it was even more DELICIOUS (if you can beleive that). Now every time there is some sort of gathering I am asked to bring "That Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by V. Low
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made this cake last week for the first time and got rave reviews from family and friends. I did cut the sugar to only 2 cups and added an additional tsp of vanilla extract. Turned out great. Making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I SIMPLY LOVED THIS RECIPE. I wasn't sure of it and because I didn't have any cake flour, I thought it'd be too heavy. But it came out great. I did add the 2 teaspoons of lemon extract and one teaspoon of vanilla extract as one of the other reviews recommended. It was perfect and the lemon cream cheese frosting really made it work. I would have taken a picture, but it was sampled before I could snap a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great recipe however I used a full cup of 7up and next time I will use a 1/2 cup more sugar. Also I didn't pre heat my oven, placing the cake in a cool oven makes a beautiful golden crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States