Seven Spiced Shark Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious!!! I used Mako shark steaks and added olive oil so it coated the steaks better. I also grilled it for 30 minutes. My wife and kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My husband and daughter are NOT FOND OF FISH. They LOVED this recipe! Score!!! I put mine on the bar-b-q on top of non stick foil on low with the lid closed for about 30 mins. (Put a fork in the center and give it a twist. If it gives way so you can see inside and is not pink, it is done)The flavor was wonderful and the texture of shark was "more like beef" they said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
The level of salty in this dish is extreme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Way too salty!!! We soaked the black-tip shark in milk and used this recipe; it was too salty. We grilled the shark. The last time we made shark we used a blackened seasoning and fried it in the pan. It had more of a rubbery texture making it in the pan, but my son liked it better last time, than this time. I enjoyed the shark better on the grill; it had more of a chicken texture. I rinsed off the shark and tried it with a peach BBQ sauce and everyone liked it better. We are going to try smoking shark next time. Then we will try basting a couple of different bbq sauces on the shark. I'm not a shark fan, BUT believe that I come up with the right method of cooking and flavor that we will be happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was good, but definitely too salty. But it's easy enough to reduce the salt next time. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and it still made way too much. Didn't need much to cover the fish, it was so thick I had to scrape some of it off so as not to overpower it. Hubby thought it was pretty good; he likes things spicy. But this one just wasn't to my liking for fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tried it myself and and had to make an account on this site to point out how bad this recipe was. I should've known better than to add 2 TABLESPOONS of garlic salt in addition to the salt from the soy sauce. The meat came out far too salty for any sane humans' tastes. In hindsight, 2 tablespoons of actual garlic would've worked much better than 2 tablespoons of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Flavor too strong. Can't taste the fish. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
great recipe! this is my second time making it, the first time i let it marinade a little too long and couldnt taste the shark. def adhere to the 1/2 hour marinade. i added a little fish sauce to the recipe to add a little sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Do

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Shark often has an aftertaste. To make it milder, soak it in milk for at least an hour (longer is better) and then give it a rinse. That being said, I cut the soy sauce in half as the marinade seemed very strong and likely to overpower the taste of the shark completely. I found it just right and not overly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This marinade is horrible. The rub is too overwhelming. Noone liked it. My husband washed off the rub paste. Would not recommend it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States