Seven Minute Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Easy and very good icing. It's light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Can I substitute honey for the corn syrup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I'm only giving this 4 stars because it is a lot of work. The end result is sweet and delicious, but it does take a lot longer than seven minutes which I think makes this recipe misleading. I also don't have a proper double boiler, so until I solve that problem this shall remain a four-star frosting. Great on lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was the perfect frosting for my cake. I love the light, stickiness . . . it did take much longer than seven minutes for me. As another reviewer, it probably took at least 30 minutes over the boiling double boiler with the mixer. If it isn't thick enough, keep cooking. I took it off and thought I could beat it thicker, and then put it back over the boiling water until it was thick, then just beat it until it was cool enough to ice the cake. This icing is exactly what my mom used to make, lots of great memories eating the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
great recipe. very sticky but a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FURB
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
With a yellow cake, the taste and texture are very nice. The icing has a mildly crispy meringue shell and adds moisture to the cake especially if kept unrefrigerated. The seven minutes the title purports is totally inaccurate. It took at LEAST 20 minutes with my hand mixer before the meringue got to the soft peak stage. As for the act of frosting, that can be a bit challenging. This icing is a bit thin for my liking. I ended up with icing all over my counter. This frosting is just not very effective for layered cakes, as it just oozes out from between the layers. This may have been avoided if allowed to completely dry before adding another layer. Try fresh berries instead. It takes quite a few (four or more) hours to completely set. I would have been building this cake for a few days had I gone by that method. The drying time (for lack of a better term) also prohibits stencils from being used effectively. To the credit of this icing, it DOES taste GREAT and contains much less fat and calories than a butter-cream type of frosting. Making this recipe is a challenging, but rewarding experience. Seven minute frosting complimented the yellow cake from King Arthur Four's Baker's Companion very nicely indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FURB

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dennis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Nice flavor, especially with my favorite Mexican vanilla, but I thought it was still rather grainy, and also found it much too sweet (hard thing to accomplish considering my killer sweet tooth). Might try again with a reduced amount of powdered sugar for a silkier texture, but I wasn't teriibly impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
YUM! So much better than canned! The texture is all marshmallowy and gooey while you spread it on the cake and then turns into a light regular frosting as it dries. I had to make sure I didn't eat too much while it was in the gooey stage. Yummy yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
The best, it taste like my mother's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Although this recipe was easy to make, it was however VERY sweet. I served it on a spice cake and noticed that most of my guests had scraped the frosting off the cake and just the cake was eaten. If you truly like sweet, sugary frosting, this recipe is for you, however I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States