Seven Minute Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Perfect! Put it on a coconut cake and sprinkled with coconut. Wow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
can I add food coloring to it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The frosting makes the coconut adhere to the cake. My fresh pineapple filling went between layers so I had enough frosting for the cake. Thank you. I have been looking for this frosting for a whi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Easy and very good icing. It's light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Can I substitute honey for the corn syrup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I'm only giving this 4 stars because it is a lot of work. The end result is sweet and delicious, but it does take a lot longer than seven minutes which I think makes this recipe misleading. I also don't have a proper double boiler, so until I solve that problem this shall remain a four-star frosting. Great on lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was the perfect frosting for my cake. I love the light, stickiness . . . it did take much longer than seven minutes for me. As another reviewer, it probably took at least 30 minutes over the boiling double boiler with the mixer. If it isn't thick enough, keep cooking. I took it off and thought I could beat it thicker, and then put it back over the boiling water until it was thick, then just beat it until it was cool enough to ice the cake. This icing is exactly what my mom used to make, lots of great memories eating the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
great recipe. very sticky but a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FURB
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
With a yellow cake, the taste and texture are very nice. The icing has a mildly crispy meringue shell and adds moisture to the cake especially if kept unrefrigerated. The seven minutes the title purports is totally inaccurate. It took at LEAST 20 minutes with my hand mixer before the meringue got to the soft peak stage. As for the act of frosting, that can be a bit challenging. This icing is a bit thin for my liking. I ended up with icing all over my counter. This frosting is just not very effective for layered cakes, as it just oozes out from between the layers. This may have been avoided if allowed to completely dry before adding another layer. Try fresh berries instead. It takes quite a few (four or more) hours to completely set. I would have been building this cake for a few days had I gone by that method. The drying time (for lack of a better term) also prohibits stencils from being used effectively. To the credit of this icing, it DOES taste GREAT and contains much less fat and calories than a butter-cream type of frosting. Making this recipe is a challenging, but rewarding experience. Seven minute frosting complimented the yellow cake from King Arthur Four's Baker's Companion very nicely indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FURB

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dennis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Nice flavor, especially with my favorite Mexican vanilla, but I thought it was still rather grainy, and also found it much too sweet (hard thing to accomplish considering my killer sweet tooth). Might try again with a reduced amount of powdered sugar for a silkier texture, but I wasn't teriibly impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States