Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This icing was really good but I do have one that is a little easier and it doesn't break down like this one seemed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
The frosting looked yummy on my triple chocolate cake. However, when eaten the next evening, the frosting was grainy. You could taste the sugar granules. Did no one have this problem? What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Grasse Merryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I've made this recipe several times, each with great success. The first time I made this I was a little afraid of it as I'd heard from others how difficult it was, but I've never had a problem. Fluffy white clouds of marshmallow like frosting, cannot be used in a decorator's tube, but can slathered on with a spatula. Once it's on, I take the side of my spatula and "pick" the frosting all around, making tiny peaks. This makes one of the prettiest cakes ever. I think the frosting is best eaten the day it is served as it can get kind of grainy and start to droop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Tip to people having problems with sugar crystals or getting it to beat up stiff enough: add 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar. It will prevent sugar crystals and makes egg whites beat up lighter. This is the stuff childhood memories are made of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe worked out perfectly. I did use Baker's Sugar, which is ultrafine and keeps the frosting from being grainy. As others have said, you do have to frost the cake immediately before the wonderful "crust" forms on the icing. Dinner guests raved about this frosting, bringing back memories of their Moms making this years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I've been making this for years. The key is to make sure the sugar is dissolved. That time over the double boiler is crucial. Also, don't make it on a humid day. It makes it mucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This recipe was a life saver. My mother always made this icing for her famous coconut layer cake, and always was asked to bring it to the family reunion. This has been an 50+ yr. tradition. Unfortunatly Mom suffered a stroke this past spring and was unable to make it or tell me how. Well the reunion is tomorrow and I just finished my cake and it turned out perfect. I even made it on a humid day. Just remember to start the timing after the water starts to boil after placing the pan in it. Thanks again, Becky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Follansbee, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
You will have better success with this if you use 1/4 C. white corn syrup and 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar. The frosting holds up better and is nice and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was great! My mother always used this for her coconut cake icing. She passed away last July and I could not find her recipe. I knew the ingredients, but not the amounts or preparation instructions. When I found this, I was so happy! I never could get the mixture to peak as well as it should have, but once I put it on the cake and added coconut, it worked fine! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
It took more than 7 minutes for me...more like 8 or 9. Also, it gets kind of crunchy while it cools. I tried beating it again but it never got as smooth as at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States