Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I've made this recipe several times, each with great success. The first time I made this I was a little afraid of it as I'd heard from others how difficult it was, but I've never had a problem. Fluffy white clouds of marshmallow like frosting, cannot be used in a decorator's tube, but can slathered on with a spatula. Once it's on, I take the side of my spatula and "pick" the frosting all around, making tiny peaks. This makes one of the prettiest cakes ever. I think the frosting is best eaten the day it is served as it can get kind of grainy and start to droop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Took longer than seven minutes, but I'll take the blame for that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is the same recipe as the one in Better Homes and Gardens. It's wonderful. I don't have a double boiler so I put a glass bowl over a pot of simmering water and it worked fine. I tinted this green and spread it on a red velvet cake for Xmas. Wonderful. Does not travel well though because it is very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Love it...Put it on a chocolate layer cake and it tasted like childhood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
It took alot longer than 7 minutes and it never did get to the right thickness. I didn't think it was sweet enough either. I won't be making this one again=(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This icing was really good but I do have one that is a little easier and it doesn't break down like this one seemed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Took a bit longer than 7 minutes, maybe 10. Results were amazing! Make this and frost your cake as close to cake-eating time as possible. As soon as my cake was iced, I sprinkled it with sweetened flaked coconut and called it my "Snowball Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This recipe was a life saver. My mother always made this icing for her famous coconut layer cake, and always was asked to bring it to the family reunion. This has been an 50+ yr. tradition. Unfortunatly Mom suffered a stroke this past spring and was unable to make it or tell me how. Well the reunion is tomorrow and I just finished my cake and it turned out perfect. I even made it on a humid day. Just remember to start the timing after the water starts to boil after placing the pan in it. Thanks again, Becky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Follansbee, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
The frosting looked yummy on my triple chocolate cake. However, when eaten the next evening, the frosting was grainy. You could taste the sugar granules. Did no one have this problem? What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Grasse Merryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Yes !! This is a great frosting I agree, my mother and grandmother used it but I have a hint - Never make it on a rainy or humid day - it won't fluff up as nice (and believe me I've done it)! My kids are making it now - even my son-in-law! Never tried to tint it though, that was a good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States