Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
My kids loved it, but it was crunchy on the outside and I had to really push in the birthday candles. Also, not an attractive frosting when dried. Taste was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
My Mom used to make this frosting back in the fifties and sixties and was my favorite on her home-made sour cream devil's food cake! Since it's basic color is white, any food coloring made every occasion a grand presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Easier than you would think, with excellent results! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I love this kind of frosting! Not all grocery stores carry the fluffy white frosting mix in a box anymore. Now I can make it from scratch. It's fun to tint the frosting pink or light blue for birthday cakes. Makes a very pretty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was very easy. And makes alot. I don't have a double broiler so I used a saucepan that had a steamer insert for it, then I set my ceramic bowl in the steamer so the heat would heat the bowl and it worked great. I believe I saw another reviewer had done the same. My icing took about 8 to 10 minutes to stiffen up. It turned out great. I've always bought the box mix of fluffly icing at the store. But I didn't feel like going to the store. I try this and of course it was much better. That's for a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Turned out great, it took about 15 minutes though to get stiff peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNICOLE
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This was great! I made it last night as dinner was cooking it was so easy! It tasted just like FLUFF! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
It took more than 7 minutes for me...more like 8 or 9. Also, it gets kind of crunchy while it cools. I tried beating it again but it never got as smooth as at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was great! My mother always used this for her coconut cake icing. She passed away last July and I could not find her recipe. I knew the ingredients, but not the amounts or preparation instructions. When I found this, I was so happy! I never could get the mixture to peak as well as it should have, but once I put it on the cake and added coconut, it worked fine! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Thank you so much for posting this recipe Carol!! My mother & grandmother used this for holiday coconut cakes. The old cookbook it was in has been lost and Christmas has not seemed the same. Its easy to prepare, tastes great on any cake and the kids will argue over who gets to lick the beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States