Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe worked out perfectly. I did use Baker's Sugar, which is ultrafine and keeps the frosting from being grainy. As others have said, you do have to frost the cake immediately before the wonderful "crust" forms on the icing. Dinner guests raved about this frosting, bringing back memories of their Moms making this years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I've been making this for years. The key is to make sure the sugar is dissolved. That time over the double boiler is crucial. Also, don't make it on a humid day. It makes it mucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I've made this recipe several times, each with great success. The first time I made this I was a little afraid of it as I'd heard from others how difficult it was, but I've never had a problem. Fluffy white clouds of marshmallow like frosting, cannot be used in a decorator's tube, but can slathered on with a spatula. Once it's on, I take the side of my spatula and "pick" the frosting all around, making tiny peaks. This makes one of the prettiest cakes ever. I think the frosting is best eaten the day it is served as it can get kind of grainy and start to droop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Took longer than seven minutes, but I'll take the blame for that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is the same recipe as the one in Better Homes and Gardens. It's wonderful. I don't have a double boiler so I put a glass bowl over a pot of simmering water and it worked fine. I tinted this green and spread it on a red velvet cake for Xmas. Wonderful. Does not travel well though because it is very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Love it...Put it on a chocolate layer cake and it tasted like childhood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
It took alot longer than 7 minutes and it never did get to the right thickness. I didn't think it was sweet enough either. I won't be making this one again=(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This icing was really good but I do have one that is a little easier and it doesn't break down like this one seemed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Took a bit longer than 7 minutes, maybe 10. Results were amazing! Make this and frost your cake as close to cake-eating time as possible. As soon as my cake was iced, I sprinkled it with sweetened flaked coconut and called it my "Snowball Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This recipe was a life saver. My mother always made this icing for her famous coconut layer cake, and always was asked to bring it to the family reunion. This has been an 50+ yr. tradition. Unfortunatly Mom suffered a stroke this past spring and was unable to make it or tell me how. Well the reunion is tomorrow and I just finished my cake and it turned out perfect. I even made it on a humid day. Just remember to start the timing after the water starts to boil after placing the pan in it. Thanks again, Becky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Follansbee, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States