Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Tip to people having problems with sugar crystals or getting it to beat up stiff enough: add 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar. It will prevent sugar crystals and makes egg whites beat up lighter. This is the stuff childhood memories are made of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My mom makes this recipe (from Better Homes and Gardens), and substitutes maraschino cherry juice for the water, drains and dices the maraschino cherries and adds them in at the very end (they have to be dry!), and uses it to ice an angel food cake. It is delicious! Sometimes she does a two layer angel food cake and mixes cream cheese with strawberry jam to put between the two layers, which goes really well with the cherry frosting. It is one of my favorite cakes, light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I remeber my mom making this when I was a kid, and it brought back fond memories. This is a great easy to make frosting for when you want something a bit different from buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My husband insists on this frosting each year for his b-day. I panic and end up making it, but it DOES get/stay grainy, not to mention (we live in Arizona) I end up beating it over the heat for at LEAST 15 minutes. However, it reminds him of his Grandmother, so who am I to complain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was optimistic about making this, but mine turned out terribly. The frosting looked beautiful, but when eaten, it was terribly grainy. It tasted like the sugar did not dissolve completely somehow. I will keep looking for a seven minute frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
The first time my grandmother and I made this recipe we made 5 coconut cakes. We broke the cocunuts with hammers and hand grated the meat. I will never forget it. This frosting is so easy to make and tastes great with fresh coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is too sweet. My mothers was not as sugary and had a sheen to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is an okay frosting but you will want to eat your cake that day because left overs for this frosting are not good. This is easy to spread and has a nice, light, fluffy texture. It almost tastes like marshmellow jet puff to me. This frosting does not keep well in the freezer and does not keep well if left on a cake for more than a day. It gets very crumbly and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe worked out perfectly. I did use Baker's Sugar, which is ultrafine and keeps the frosting from being grainy. As others have said, you do have to frost the cake immediately before the wonderful "crust" forms on the icing. Dinner guests raved about this frosting, bringing back memories of their Moms making this years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I've been making this for years. The key is to make sure the sugar is dissolved. That time over the double boiler is crucial. Also, don't make it on a humid day. It makes it mucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States