Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
tried recipe exactly as is. was great for about 30 minutes. after which it got that awful crystal consistency that everyone talks about. i did not have the cream of tartar that is suggested by others and imagine this may help. but as the recipe is written, 3 stars is generous. sorry. possibly re-writing it with some tweaking to rid of the crystalization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have used this recipe for years!!! But I add 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. And like one person wrote, its very hard to make on a humid day. You also need to get your eggs room temp first. My Grandma made a 3 layer Coconut cake with this frosting, bananas, pineapple chunks and freshly grated coconut!! It is the closest thing to Heaven I have ever experianced (as far as food goes)!!It takes some time but its worth it! This frosting is also very very good on devils food cake!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Tip to people having problems with sugar crystals or getting it to beat up stiff enough: add 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar. It will prevent sugar crystals and makes egg whites beat up lighter. This is the stuff childhood memories are made of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My mom makes this recipe (from Better Homes and Gardens), and substitutes maraschino cherry juice for the water, drains and dices the maraschino cherries and adds them in at the very end (they have to be dry!), and uses it to ice an angel food cake. It is delicious! Sometimes she does a two layer angel food cake and mixes cream cheese with strawberry jam to put between the two layers, which goes really well with the cherry frosting. It is one of my favorite cakes, light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I remeber my mom making this when I was a kid, and it brought back fond memories. This is a great easy to make frosting for when you want something a bit different from buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My husband insists on this frosting each year for his b-day. I panic and end up making it, but it DOES get/stay grainy, not to mention (we live in Arizona) I end up beating it over the heat for at LEAST 15 minutes. However, it reminds him of his Grandmother, so who am I to complain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was optimistic about making this, but mine turned out terribly. The frosting looked beautiful, but when eaten, it was terribly grainy. It tasted like the sugar did not dissolve completely somehow. I will keep looking for a seven minute frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
The first time my grandmother and I made this recipe we made 5 coconut cakes. We broke the cocunuts with hammers and hand grated the meat. I will never forget it. This frosting is so easy to make and tastes great with fresh coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is too sweet. My mothers was not as sugary and had a sheen to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is an okay frosting but you will want to eat your cake that day because left overs for this frosting are not good. This is easy to spread and has a nice, light, fluffy texture. It almost tastes like marshmellow jet puff to me. This frosting does not keep well in the freezer and does not keep well if left on a cake for more than a day. It gets very crumbly and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States