Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
More like 20 min frosting. but YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Szell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
As other reviewers suggested I to use 1/4 cup of syrup. I think this was why it was not very good. With this much added sweetness it made the frosting way way to sickly sweet and wet. I will make this again and follow the recipe as directed except will add 1/2 tsp of Cream of Tartar. I ruined the taste by adding that extra corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Really excellent and easy to make. I added 1/4 t of cream of tartar and upped the corn syrup to 1/4 c. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Tried this recipe this morning and the sugar still has crystals in the frosting. I added cream of tartar and beat it silly but it tastes good. Perhaps ultra fine sugar or less sugar would be the answer, I don't know. Hope my company doesn't complain about the grainy frosting. Chrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
my mother made this for years. must start in cold double boiler and turn on high. beat only for 7 minutes. I usually forgo the vanilla. if over beaten, gets chunky. we serve warm on devil's food cake---one layer. frosting as high as the cake. soaks into cake overnight. heavenly...she made it with 1 white, 2/3 c sugar, 1/3 cold water, 2 T corn syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Used this as a topping for yummy cupcakes. Used all organic ingredients (pastured chicken eggs...& even org. corn syrup!). Substituted about 3/4 tsp. lemon juice for vanilla & added at time of beating. Double-boiled/beat 10 full minutes. Just what I was looking for...but perhaps, not the best cake frosting? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is the best frosting! I didn't have a problem with it being grainy at all. Be sure to add some cream of tarter. I used in on a yellow cake, used canned lemon pie filling between the layers, frosted the sides and top, and sprinkled it all over with coconut. Devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I don't have to put this in my recipe box, since it is there from my mother's cake baking days. This is a very fun frosting that is somewhat like a meringue;it is also delicate and does best if eaten same day. Be careful not to scrape sides of pan, so that it won't crystallize. A pinch of cream of tartar at final beating can help keep it soft. Enjoy! (great on devil's food)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
You will have better success with this if you use 1/4 C. white corn syrup and 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar. The frosting holds up better and is nice and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
tried recipe exactly as is. was great for about 30 minutes. after which it got that awful crystal consistency that everyone talks about. i did not have the cream of tartar that is suggested by others and imagine this may help. but as the recipe is written, 3 stars is generous. sorry. possibly re-writing it with some tweaking to rid of the crystalization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States