Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lorrie
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My mom has been making this for years, using light corn syrup in place of the creme of tarter (no diffrence in the taste at all). I like this one better. It's so easy once you find the trick...WHICH IS keep mixing but don't start timing your 7 minutes until after the water returns to boiling and run your mixer on high for the full 7 minutes. It's thick and creamy and tastes like marshmallow fluff. Perfect on chocolate cake or cup cakes. However you have to spread it on a completly cool cake while the frosting is still slightly warm, and DO NOT cover it it will stick to everything (as does fluff) and it does get a little grainy after it sets for a long period (6-8 hours) of time to best to make just a few hours before serving. Sounds like a lot of work but it's really not. AND IT'S WORTH WHAT LITTLE TIME IT DOES TAKE! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
I love this frosting! I've used it for years, and it never fails to be a favorite among kids and adults, as well as a wonderful decoration on any cake or cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I use this recipe, but I add 8 small marshmallows when I pull it off the head, and beat until they melt and it's ready to spread. I've also used orange juice in place of water and orange extract in place of vanilla. It's great with my oraqnge cream cake. It's a wonderful marshmallow frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Tunney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minier, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made it accrding to the recipe and it was terrific. A little less sweet than the 7 minute frosting I grew up with. I did have to beat it for more like 13 minutes. Just be sure to wait until it's thick and firm enough to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a tried and true recipe I've used for years, and it's just like the frosting my mom made when I was little. I've noticed several of the reviews stated that theirs fell flat in spite of following the recipe exactly - perhaps I can give some insight? I've learned the hard way over many years that you cannot make this frosting on a rainy day, or even a very overcast day - the humidity in the air will prevent the egg whites from whipping up, no matter what you do. So, my advice is to check with Jim Cantore the day before you want to do this frosting. :) Otherwise, it is awesome! Perfect for a coconut cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I followed the recipe to the T. The flavor was ok, but it was so runny. I stirred it for at least 15 mins and it wouldnt get stiff. Very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Delicious! I used 2 tsp light corn syrup since I didn't have the cream of tartar and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is the first recipe in all my life that actually IS 7 Minutes ONLY to beat. It is so fluffy and yummy, and not runny or granulated at all. Here is what I did: I had my cake cooled, the water boiling in the bottom of the double boiler, and mixer ready. Then, in the top of the bouble boiler (not over heat yet) I measured out the sugar and cream of tartar/light corn syrup, whichever you prefer.Then I separated the eggs in a small bowl. Placed the flavoring measured out, in a small measuring cup. Added the water and eggs to the sugar and set over boiling water. Immediately began mixing on high and within just one minute it was already getting that whiter look to it. After 7 minutes I removed from heat, added flavor and beat another minute. Immediately cover cake as once it cools for about 5 minutes it will rip up your cake- it gets a little thicker. Hopefully this helps the people who were having trouble with the recipe. My new go to for 7-minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Easy to make and a good light taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Easy, but a little time consuming. I had to stand at my stove top for almost 15 minutes. Turned out very yummy! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States