Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made it accrding to the recipe and it was terrific. A little less sweet than the 7 minute frosting I grew up with. I did have to beat it for more like 13 minutes. Just be sure to wait until it's thick and firm enough to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorrie
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My mom has been making this for years, using light corn syrup in place of the creme of tarter (no diffrence in the taste at all). I like this one better. It's so easy once you find the trick...WHICH IS keep mixing but don't start timing your 7 minutes until after the water returns to boiling and run your mixer on high for the full 7 minutes. It's thick and creamy and tastes like marshmallow fluff. Perfect on chocolate cake or cup cakes. However you have to spread it on a completly cool cake while the frosting is still slightly warm, and DO NOT cover it it will stick to everything (as does fluff) and it does get a little grainy after it sets for a long period (6-8 hours) of time to best to make just a few hours before serving. Sounds like a lot of work but it's really not. AND IT'S WORTH WHAT LITTLE TIME IT DOES TAKE! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
yummy! i had no problem with this frosting getting thick enough. i beat it for the 7 minutes on the heat and about 1 more off of the heat. it worked great! it goes fantastic with chocolate cupcakes. i agree, it took me back to my childhood too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I followed the recipe to the T. The flavor was ok, but it was so runny. I stirred it for at least 15 mins and it wouldnt get stiff. Very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Really good. I made it with the Dark Chocolate II Cake recipe which I made as cupcakes. It tasted a bit like Hostess Cupcakes except not dry. I did use a hand held mixer to mix. I'm not sure if I could have done it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Fluffy frosting! If using good quality vanilla extract (real), reduce to 1/2 teaspoon, otherwise flavor may be a bit too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Easy to make and a good light taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Frosting tasted delicious... but it took a lot longer to make, and did not get to be as stiff as I expected it to be. Easy enough to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I use this recipe, but I add 8 small marshmallows when I pull it off the head, and beat until they melt and it's ready to spread. I've also used orange juice in place of water and orange extract in place of vanilla. It's great with my oraqnge cream cake. It's a wonderful marshmallow frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Tunney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minier, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States