Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
It's yummy, but it seems to take more than seven minutes to get stiff peaks, even though I don't start timing until my water is boiling (in fact, I don't think I've achieved it, yet, and I've made this a couple of times already). I'm getting ready to make it again, and this time I'm going to increase my cream of tartar to a half teaspoon and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I wasn't sure if two egg whites would give me enough frosting for a 9 x 13 cake. It gave me plenty--plus left overs. This was an easy, good frosting--which is not too sweet. The only thing I'd do differently is start with 1/2 tsp of vanilla first, as with a full teaspoon it tasted a bit to alcohol-y from the extract. This is not as sweet as other 7-minute frostings, which was a good pairing with my super sweet, rich strawberry cake. I'll definitely make this again. It's great as it doesn't require confectioner's sugar, which I usually don't have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this for a family friend and it turned out perfect. I used a stainless steal mixing bowl on a large pot of water as my double boiler. I also used powdered sugar instead of granulated. I used my electric mixer to mix for the 7 minutes. My husband loved it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I really liked the ease of this recipe. I added a small bit of marshmallow cream to the mix to be able to use it for two or three days and it held up well. After refrigerating the remainder of the frosting, I piped strawberry buttercream inside the chocolate cake and piped a star on the top. The combination was so tasty. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Easy, but a little time consuming. I had to stand at my stove top for almost 15 minutes. Turned out very yummy! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Easy recipe, takes a bit of work standing and beating but makes a nice fluffy, tasty icing. I used three egg whites since my eggs seemed really small. Will make again thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a tried and true recipe I've used for years, and it's just like the frosting my mom made when I was little. I've noticed several of the reviews stated that theirs fell flat in spite of following the recipe exactly - perhaps I can give some insight? I've learned the hard way over many years that you cannot make this frosting on a rainy day, or even a very overcast day - the humidity in the air will prevent the egg whites from whipping up, no matter what you do. So, my advice is to check with Jim Cantore the day before you want to do this frosting. :) Otherwise, it is awesome! Perfect for a coconut cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Just like Mama used to make. It was so easy and turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe. Haven't made it in years. I increased the recipe a little for a 3 layer cake and I used Maple flavoring instead of Vanilla. Yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Grove, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Absolutely perfect! I had made a fat-free coconut cake and wanted something fat free for the frosting. Everything else calls for butter, shortening or something fatty. This was perfect. I used 1/4 tsp coconut flavoring and 3/4 tsp of vanilla. Just the right amount of flavoring to go over my cake. Thanks for a great recipe. Like I told my husband, I haven't made 7 minutes frosting in about 25 years, and now I don't know why I didn't make it all these years!! Will use this recipe all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States