Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I strongly agree that it takes more time to mix ,perhaps we should rename it as 14 minute icing and I think I have a solution to the grainy texture problem. I was told it was because I let the boiling water touch the bottom of my double boiler as I was mixing. I will be trying it again using less water and no rapid boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I followed another cooks suggestion to used 2 tsp of light corn syrup because I didn't have cream of tartar, other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". It came out perfectly! My friends son can't have too much sugar or it makes him sick. This was just right not overly sweet and with coconut extract - Heavenly! Only thing 7 min. may not be enough time mine was more like a 15 min. frosting before I got the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
The absolute best frosting ever! My mom LOVES this frosting, and instead of vanilla extract, I added coconut flavoring, to go with the coconut cupcakes, and it was AMAZING. Can't say enough good things about this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a7x-angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
If yours is runny, your cream of tartar might be old! This recipe is SUPER and EASY! I know this frosting doesn't keep at room temperature and my fridge was full. Before bed I set up the whites and water in the fridge and all the dry stuff in a stainless bowl over a pot of water with the vanilla bottle and beaters out, just heated and beat it and spread it on my cake. 10 minutes after I turned on the heat, my cake was frosted. Everyone loved it. Perfect on the Black Magic cake! I was nervous because I've never seen a 7 minute recipe with water, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I just made this recipe & it was great! I put it into a bowl & let my son & his friends decorate cupcakes with it. I don't have a regular beater so I followed the directions but after I cooked & stirred it (for 13 min) I poured it into my stand mixer & beat it on high for about 7 minutes. My son calls it "marshmallow frosting" & it's his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is the first recipe in all my life that actually IS 7 Minutes ONLY to beat. It is so fluffy and yummy, and not runny or granulated at all. Here is what I did: I had my cake cooled, the water boiling in the bottom of the double boiler, and mixer ready. Then, in the top of the bouble boiler (not over heat yet) I measured out the sugar and cream of tartar/light corn syrup, whichever you prefer.Then I separated the eggs in a small bowl. Placed the flavoring measured out, in a small measuring cup. Added the water and eggs to the sugar and set over boiling water. Immediately began mixing on high and within just one minute it was already getting that whiter look to it. After 7 minutes I removed from heat, added flavor and beat another minute. Immediately cover cake as once it cools for about 5 minutes it will rip up your cake- it gets a little thicker. Hopefully this helps the people who were having trouble with the recipe. My new go to for 7-minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this on a very rainy day and, despite the weather, it turned out (mostly) fine. It took about 10 minutes to beat it into submission and once I realized it wasn't going to get any more stiff-peak-ish I forged ahead with it. It was a bit "relaxed" for frosting my cake but I'd run out of time and had to proceed with my slumpy frosting. It looked homey and was, in my opinion, tooth-achingly sweet. It was a pretty frosting, it worked for my cake, so I'm giving it a 3 star, but I won't make it again. The texture was just too granular for my liking and unfortunately, that was the consensus of the others eating the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
perfect just like my recipe that i can't find:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
It's yummy, but it seems to take more than seven minutes to get stiff peaks, even though I don't start timing until my water is boiling (in fact, I don't think I've achieved it, yet, and I've made this a couple of times already). I'm getting ready to make it again, and this time I'm going to increase my cream of tartar to a half teaspoon and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I wasn't sure if two egg whites would give me enough frosting for a 9 x 13 cake. It gave me plenty--plus left overs. This was an easy, good frosting--which is not too sweet. The only thing I'd do differently is start with 1/2 tsp of vanilla first, as with a full teaspoon it tasted a bit to alcohol-y from the extract. This is not as sweet as other 7-minute frostings, which was a good pairing with my super sweet, rich strawberry cake. I'll definitely make this again. It's great as it doesn't require confectioner's sugar, which I usually don't have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States