Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I just made this today, for an angel food cake. I followed the recipe with only one change. I added an extra egg white with just a smidgen more tarter. This frosting came out simply silky smooth and with just the right amount of sweetness. This one is now my 'go to' frosting! For the grainy problem others mentioned in the reviews- just be sure the boiling water doesn't touch the bottom of your pan. I myself have had that issue until a wonderful friend told me what I was doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
PLEASE READ BEFORE MAKING: This recipe turned out great, AFTER I found out from another recipe that you are supposed to use an electric mixer! I had given up on my runny mixture which i was beating with a whisk for over 15 minutes and desperately began searching for another white frosting recipe where i found one, similar to this , but it stated to use an ELECTRIC MIXER. I put mine back on the heat, even with the vanilla in it and beated it and it is perfect now, if i do say so myself ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
After I made the frosting it looked fluffy and tasted fair; not great. I frosted the cake and it hardened and turned grainy looking. When I cut the cake the frosting just crumbled off in chunks. Not a good recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made it exactly as written, except I whipped the icing for about 16 minutes and it never became fluffy. The taste was ok, but the texture was all wrong. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great recipe! I love it on angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
To anyone making this 7-minute frosting...the weather has a lot to do with this frosting...if it is a rainy or humid day it may not form stiff peaks. Whenever I have made this frosting on a rainy or humid day it doesn't set up well and is grainy. Hopefully this will help you. This still is my favorite kind of frosting. There are several different ways to make it, however, they are all very delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
My first try wouldn't thicken, but the 2nd came out perfectly. Lesson learned: use fresh egg whites. Liquid egg whites from a carton will not work, or at least will take a whole lot longer than 7 minutes. I added some coconut extract along with the vanilla, and my coconut cake was a hit. This is definitely going into my cake arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this exactly as written. Awesome! My first time making 7 minute icing for my Dad, who has been eating it for many, many years. He actually told me it was as good as my Mom's! :) Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I could never get it to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I strongly agree that it takes more time to mix ,perhaps we should rename it as 14 minute icing and I think I have a solution to the grainy texture problem. I was told it was because I let the boiling water touch the bottom of my double boiler as I was mixing. I will be trying it again using less water and no rapid boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States