Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
It works PERFECTLY. I followed the advice of the reviewer who recommended mixing the dry ingredients together thoroughly first, then pouring in the water and egg whites together and making sure the water is boiling underneath for the full 7 minutes. It works like magic. It tastes like childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I just made this frosting to cover Olaf shaped rice krispie treats. It's white, fluffy and DELICIOUS! I did make it on a cool dry day - that probably helped. I made half of a batch and it was 2x more than I needed. That's ok though - the kids are eating it out of the bowl. Things I did: heat water to boiling First - then make sure it doesn't touch the bottom of the DB bowl. Mix all ingredients before putting the DB bowl over the boiling water. Left out the vanilla and used corn syrup instead of Cream of Tarter. And, beat the out of it with a hand mixer. Things I wish I would have done: turned the boil down to the lowest it would go. Taken the frosting off of the boiling water IMMEDIATELY - I waited about 30 sec after I was done mixing. The stove was off & the water wasn't boiling but the residual heat was still there. Frost IMMEDIATELY - I waited about 2 minutes to start frosting and with the extra 'cook time' it over did the bottom layer of frosting in the bowl and made it clumpy. Otherwise, it's amazing - not too sweet and super glossy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I just made this today, for an angel food cake. I followed the recipe with only one change. I added an extra egg white with just a smidgen more tarter. This frosting came out simply silky smooth and with just the right amount of sweetness. This one is now my 'go to' frosting! For the grainy problem others mentioned in the reviews- just be sure the boiling water doesn't touch the bottom of your pan. I myself have had that issue until a wonderful friend told me what I was doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This recipe turned out great, AFTER I found out that you are supposed to use an electric mixer! I had given up on my runny mixture which i was beating with a whisk for over 15 minutes and desperately began searching for another white frosting recipe where i found one, similar to this , but it stated to use an ELECTRIC MIXER. I put mine back on the heat, even with the vanilla in it and beated it and it is perfect now, if i do say so myself ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
After I made the frosting it looked fluffy and tasted fair; not great. I frosted the cake and it hardened and turned grainy looking. When I cut the cake the frosting just crumbled off in chunks. Not a good recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made it exactly as written, except I whipped the icing for about 16 minutes and it never became fluffy. The taste was ok, but the texture was all wrong. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great recipe! I love it on angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
To anyone making this 7-minute frosting...the weather has a lot to do with this frosting...if it is a rainy or humid day it may not form stiff peaks. Whenever I have made this frosting on a rainy or humid day it doesn't set up well and is grainy. Hopefully this will help you. This still is my favorite kind of frosting. There are several different ways to make it, however, they are all very delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
My first try wouldn't thicken, but the 2nd came out perfectly. Lesson learned: use fresh egg whites. Liquid egg whites from a carton will not work, or at least will take a whole lot longer than 7 minutes. I added some coconut extract along with the vanilla, and my coconut cake was a hit. This is definitely going into my cake arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States