Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very easy and actually very tasty! I used salsa verde and didn't have cilantro but it came out great! A nice meatless meal for sure! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happy Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I had quite a few improvements here - I used a 9x13 inch pan and simply layered them one sort of over the other and used 8 tortillas - I did prebake them for about 10 minutes then took off 2 at a time and used another 9x13 pan to assemble in. Peel off tortillas 2 x 2 from the oven. They won't be as soggy in the end. I used a can of refried beans instead ( approx half a can or depending on how much you like ) and smeared that on the bottom of each. I assembled some taco meat w/ a low sodium seasoning packet (approx 1.5# beef) In separate bowl I combined one can of rotel tomatoes ( drained ) one can of chopped tomatoes (drained ) one can of black beans (drained) a dash of cumin, 2 minced garlic cloves, a dash of chili powder and a can of FIESTA NACHO CHEESE SOUP from Campbell's - combined altogether this made it really stick together nicely. One layer of refried beans, a small layer of seasoned beef and one layer of tomato mixture - a tiny bit of shredded cheese and continue. I baked for 50 minutes on 400 and served w/ tortilla chips, salsa, topped w/ lettuce at the end and sour cream. HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Next time, i'll sautee the garlic before combining, but definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Very tasty and pretty healthy too! A little taco seasoning might add a little more flavor but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious!!!! I did modify as suggested by others. I added chopped green chilies, ground beef with taco seasoning, refried beans in place of the pinto and black beans, added enchilada sauce, used tace chesse instead of cheddar, and also used corn tortillas instead of flour and baked them for 5 minutes. Even my picky 12 year old daugher cleaned her plate!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I'm a vegetarian. My husband is not. Finding things to cook that make us both happy isn't always easy. This is so fantastic it's gone into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was very easy and very good. I added taco seasoned ground beef in the layers and also used spring form pan as suggested, made it easy to cut and serve. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Soooo delicious! I added taco meat into one of the layers and used refried beans [as suggested by another user] instead of pinto beans. Also, pre-baking the tortillas before cooking was an awesome tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Followed this recipe the first time and it was a hit. Next time I'll be sprinkling diced green onion on each layer before the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
So easy, fun, and yummy! My husband barely swallowed his first bite before saying "wow, this is really good! You need to make this next time we have someone over!" I substituted a can of corn for a can of the pinto beans, and added some cumin to a few of the layers. Next time I will probably throw in a chopped jalapeño to add a little heat, at the request of my hubby. :-) highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States