Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I used a small casserole dish and covered the bottom with totillas that I had toasted. I added taco seasoned ground beef. I used rotel instead of salsa and tomatoes. I added some Mexican corn, too. I used one can of refried beans and one can of black beans. Okay, I made a lot of changes. Sorry! But it turned out well. I think I'll try chicken next. Thanks for the recipe and the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My family loved it. I added browned taco seasoned hamburger to the layers and replaced cilantro with mild green chiles. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is the only recipe I've gotten online that I was blown away by. Everyone loves it! I heat the tortillas over an open flame for about 10 seconds per side before I assemble the pie. It doesn't get soggy that way. I substitute refried beans for the pintos (1 can traditional and 1 can ranchero) and 1 can of Rotel (original) for the tomatoes. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berbm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I used Rotel in place of part of the salsa and the tomatos because I ran out of salsa and it was really good. It was all so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was pretty good, but I felt it needed more texture. Some crushed chips on top would probably make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very tasty. Ended up only using 5 tortillas, which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very delicious. I only used one can of pinto beans and added a can of refried beans. We also topped the pie with avacodo before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I added a layer of ground turkey seasoned with taco seasoning and mixed with canned green chillies and corn. Additionally, I toasted the tortillas first to keep them from getting mushy. Overall, I might add a bit a more cheese and use all the bean spread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Added shredded cooked chicken and used fresh tomatoes in the place of salsa. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very nice,especially the next day cold out of the fridge when it was easier to cut.Cold i liked the taste better because of the very strong taste of the chouriço.Next time i will do half chouriço and half minced meat i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Peeters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States