Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Really good. I switched the proportions to two cans of black beans to one of pinto. I also added a little more cheese. I also needed to bake it for about 50-55 minutes, otherwise it was still a little cool in the center. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Good, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this easy casserole for our dinner last night. I really like that this recipe is quite versatile in what you can do with it. I replaced the two cans of pinto beans with one can of fat free refried beans. I used low sodium black beans, and canned diced tomatoes with green chilies, instead of fresh tomatoes. The cheese I used was Monterey jack. I added half a taco seasoning packet to each bean mixture, but I'm not sure it was needed. We topped this with sour cream, and salsa or taco sauce. I sliced this into eight servings, instead of 6, and that smaller serving was plenty. It worked beautifully in my covered, glass, round casserole dish. The kids really liked this, and we had no leftovers. This will become a regular in our house. This could easily be made with corn tortillas. I may make this when my son's friend, who has a wheat allergy, stays with us. He also has a dairy allergy, but the cheese could easily be left off. Then it could be placed on the table with other condiments for people to add as they wish. In the future, I think I will replace both the salsa and tomatoes with pico de gallo. I served this with a green salad, and it made the perfect Sunday night meal. It could easily be made ahead, ready to pop in the oven on busy weeknights. Olives, chicken, corn, avocados, and ground beef could be used to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I followed some of the other reviews and used chicken, jalapeños, and tomato sauce. I boiled some chicken quarters and added some oregano, cumin, bay leaf, garlic powder, onion powder, Goya, and crushed red pepper. One of the other reviewers used enchilada sauce, I took the recommendation and made by own with the canned tomato sauce, some of the chicken broth, Goya, and mixed it with the shredded chicken. I layered the tortillas with black beans, pepper jack cheese, sharp cheddar cheese, shredded chicken, jalapeños, salsa, a small amount of brown rice, and seasoned tomato sauce. I had enough chicken broth to freeze and use for another recipe. Thanks KDCG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Changes I made: I sauteed one small onion then added the pinto beans (drained and rinsed) to the pan and smashed then and added Cumin to taste. I then added I can corn (drained and rinsed) and one can of original rotel (with liquid). Heated until most liquid evaporated. I heated the tortillas in a separate pan on stove, greased my pie dish then layered tortilla, bean mixture, sprinkled with cheese, sprinkled sliced black olives and chopped cilantro. Repeated until I ran out of bean mixture then topped with tortilla and cheese. Baked as directed. Served with sour cream. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was good, but I have some recipes I like better that are similar in concept, but spread out over a casserole. I took it out at 40 minutes like the recipe states because I had some hungry (and demanding) kids, but it should have cooked about 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
MY SON ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS!! Need I say anything more? This is a picky, fifteen year old who up to now has always said to me, 'Why don't you cook American?'. He wants me to make this again and again. Oh, btw, you don't need 2 cans of beans to do this, I just used one can and it was refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was really good and I am glad I made it. Next time I will bake the tortillas first so they don't get soggy, good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this dish the other day for a party I was hosting and it is absolutely delicious! I couldn't find canned pinto beans so used canned refried beans instead. I also used a Mexican cheese blend instead of cheddar. The package of tortillas I bought had 12 tortillas in it so I decided to make 2-6 layer pies. Fun and easy to put together and the house smelled amazing while it was baking. This was a huge hit at the party and I will definitely make it again! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe! I am vegetarian and was looking for something good like this. If you want to cook less, do only 2 layers and bake for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States