Seven Layer Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by iannacca
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very nice recipe, I took in part the suggestions of Janet Dufor and JULIEWNEK (thanks to both!) and added my own twist, substituting lettuce (for the sogginess issue) and green bell pepper (my son does not like them) with a simple guacamole, which I made just mashing 5-6 avodacos, adding chili powder and cumin to taste, the juice of a lime (can use 1/2 too) and about 4-6 oz of creamy goat cheese. I used ~ 1lb. of 85% lean ground turkey for the taco meat, also spiced up with the taco seasoning mix (but added chili powder and cumin to taste to this too because the mix I had was a bit wimpy). I also warmed up the refried beans before spreading them (added a bit of water to it to make is a bit creamier, o/w too guey straight out of the can, can use chicken stock too). I had a large platter (and a nice size group!), so I decided to double the beans (2 cans). I also used light sour cream and no cream cheese to cut a bit on calories. I ended up with eight layers, which I arranged as follows (from bottom to top): 1) Refried beans; 2) Turkey taco meat; 3) Shredded Cheddar cheese (melted nicely on top the two warm layers); 4) Sour cream; 5) Salsa; 6) My guacamole; 7) Rotel original recipe tomatoes mixed with chives instead of green onions (either OK I think); 8) Sliced black olives. Great with either tortilla chips of all sorts or even soft corn tortillas (we used a lot of the latter and blue corn chips for some gluten-intolerant people). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iannacca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is fabulous! I made it last year for super bowl (with some alterations for preference) and it was devoured! I was asked to make it again this year, and again, completely devoured! This is a keeper for sure. Here's what I did differently; I cooked 1 lb ground beef with taco seasoning, and mixed with the refried beans, left out most of the veggies, and layered as follows (from bottom to top): 1) Ground beef/refried bean mixture 2) Sour cream/cream cheese mixture 3) Chunky Salsa 4) Shredded Cheese 5) Olives Last year I served it cold and this year I served it warm (baked at 375 for about 20 min) and it tastes delicious both ways! Wonderful recipe! Can't say enough good things about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
It was great. I did not use the black olives only because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe as written. Next time I will add black beans as someone else suggested and I will cut the amount of cream cheese and sour cream in half. There was too much cream cheese and sour cream for me. Overall, you cannot mess this recipe up and my kids and husband gobbled this up! By the way......I preferred this warm so I warmed my serving up in a bowl in the microwave for about 15 seconds to knock the chill off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I just made this last night and it was AMAZING. Only things I changed was I used pork vs the beans and I did not put the lettuce on either. It was amazing dip. Will be making this lots in this house hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy way to hit a home run. We don't care for refried beans so I add the taco mix to the sour cream layer and it works out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
OK. I do not put taco seasoning in the sour cream. No need with all the other natural flavors. Besides all taco seasoning I've ever used has an artificial taste. Use other spices if you need to. Also, this tastes great with Monterrey Jack cheese instead of cheddar. And you don't need more tomatoes (although I love lots of tomatoes) if you do as one reviewer said and drain the chunky salsa. Lots of ways to do 5 or 6 or 7 or more layered dip. And I'm sure everyone has her/his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Was gobbled up! Great idea for parties. We used a guacamole layer too, because who doesn't like guacamole? Will make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Every time I make this I get compliments and requests for the recipe. You can't mess it up. Easy an so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Could not stop eating! Instead of standard retried beans I used 3 28oz cans of Goya red kidney beans. I warmed them up in a pot. I mixed Picante Medium Salsa in the beans about 8oz or so. Also mixed two packs of Sazon. Mixed them together cooked for about ten minutes. I drained the beans and mixed three packs of Taco seasoning. Instead of lettuce I used guacamole. I would have made my own but I was in a rush so I used 4 11oz jars of Herrs Guacamole & believe it or not their guacamole has a lot of flavor- it's just not thick. I also skipped the green onions. I did & used everything else as the recipe shows. Great, easy party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States