Seven Layer Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy way to hit a home run. We don't care for refried beans so I add the taco mix to the sour cream layer and it works out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
OK. I do not put taco seasoning in the sour cream. No need with all the other natural flavors. Besides all taco seasoning I've ever used has an artificial taste. Use other spices if you need to. Also, this tastes great with Monterrey Jack cheese instead of cheddar. And you don't need more tomatoes (although I love lots of tomatoes) if you do as one reviewer said and drain the chunky salsa. Lots of ways to do 5 or 6 or 7 or more layered dip. And I'm sure everyone has her/his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Was gobbled up! Great idea for parties. We used a guacamole layer too, because who doesn't like guacamole? Will make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Every time I make this I get compliments and requests for the recipe. You can't mess it up. Easy an so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Could not stop eating! Instead of standard retried beans I used 3 28oz cans of Goya red kidney beans. I warmed them up in a pot. I mixed Picante Medium Salsa in the beans about 8oz or so. Also mixed two packs of Sazon. Mixed them together cooked for about ten minutes. I drained the beans and mixed three packs of Taco seasoning. Instead of lettuce I used guacamole. I would have made my own but I was in a rush so I used 4 11oz jars of Herrs Guacamole & believe it or not their guacamole has a lot of flavor- it's just not thick. I also skipped the green onions. I did & used everything else as the recipe shows. Great, easy party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a great, basic recipe and is perfect for parties! I made it for my family Christmas party and it got raves...it serves a lot of people, too! I think the only thing I would do differently next time is use a hot salsa or add some sliced jalapenos (because I would like it spicier), but it's nice you can customize to your guests' tastes. Definitely use a chunky salsa so that it holds up better and doesn't make the sour cream mixture runny. I also tried to layer the "sturdier" ingredients, i.e. peppers, lettuce, etc. against the sour cream mix and THEN put down the salsa so that it didn't get too messy. All in all, a keeper! Would be really pretty in a clear glass bowl, too, so you can see the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Over the years I have made this recipe and it has evolved into an AMAZING one. I use low-fat sour cream and cream cheese, as well as fat free refried beans that are seasoned with a mix of spices, but not taco seasoning. I have done that and it works fine though. I do not put in olives or lettuce, but sometimes add a guacamole layer. If I have green onions, they go in, but I usually just use red onions. I always add some jalapenos over the cheese, and I usually use a reduced fat Mexican cheese blend from the cheese aisle. Nobody ever suspects it's all low fat, and it's ALWAYS gone quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I have been making this for 2 years now for my fiancé's firehouse Christmas and New Year's parties. It is such a hit, it's usually one of the 1st dishes to disappear! My fiancé begged me to make it again this year and my mom now asked me to make it for Christmas! I will only make it for the holidays because I could easily eat the entire thing on my own. I personally think Tostidos Scoops are the best chip for this dip (less mess).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
use double refried beans and half of the taco seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I loved the cream cheese addition to this taco dip. I added a layer of guacamole with jalepeno on top of the sour cream / cream cheese layer to add some additional flavor and zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States