Seven Layer Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I use Chili Sauce instead of salsa due to the watery look that the salsa can leave...this makes it tangy and much easier to scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this for a church lunch and people loved it. We have a very diverse group of people, and everyone really enjoyed it - in fact, they kept asking if one of the great chefs in our church had made it! Only thing I omitted was the lettuce, because it did have to sit for a couple hours during church and I was worried about wilting. That was it. I used a 9X13 pan and it came out perfect. Use Tostida Scoops! They are great for this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.NormaC
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I loved this dish, I only changed a few things. I deleted the bell pepper because the salsa had some in it. I also used chopped olives instead of sliced, and I chopped the lettuce because the shredded would still dangle from the chip and people would drip. I also used avocado, but I cut it once it was ready to serve because it would brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.NormaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I start with a can of Dennison Original Chile Beans. Makes a big difference. Everyone is surprised by the different taste of the chile. Put the sour cream on top of it when layering. Sooo good. Never have a bit leftover. I am not a fan of taco seasoning and do not need it with the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have been making this for years but don't use lettuce or green pepper but add a layer of guacamole on the beans followed by sour cream, diced tomatoes, green onions, shredded cheese and olives. I love how it can be changed to adapt to any taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New London, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
There are many versions of taco dips and this one is very good. The only tweeking I did was to use a can of black beans instead of refried beans which contain a whole bunch of salt. I also added a few jarred jalopenos to spic it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Wonderful! I prepared each of the layer ingredients ahead of time and assembled it when I got there. Made this for a family gathering last week. Not a bit was leftover! Had calls for the recipe before I got back home. The only change we made was we used our own homemade salsa, drained slightly. We had a wide range of ages of family there and they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I've been making this for years, except I use cumin and chili powder instead of the taco seasoning. . .but. . .really the same thing. I've been reading reviews and people are commenting on serving dishes. This is really pretty if you use a platter, round is best but oval like in the pic is okay too. You leave and edge of each ingredient showing so that your guests can see what's in it, it also looks really pretty like that. If you put the cheese on top of the beans instead of on top of the lettuce, the lettuce doesn't get weighed down as much. Okay. . .now I want some 7 layer dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is what my kids call "the Gourmet Version" of taco dip. They can make a meal of it. I like it because it is so versatile. You can swap out different peppers, salsas, guacamole, etc., and it is ALWAYS delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have made this a day ahead, it keeps fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States