Seven Layer Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I've been looking for a really good layered dip and I've found it! The only changes I made was I put "two cans of refried beans with roasted chiles" into the taco mix (all I could taste with one can was salt, two cans were perfect) I did use all the beans which was good, but next time I think I'll only use half and save half for another time. I also used "light" sour cream and "reduced calorie" cream cheese, and I could not tell the difference. Also I did the layers the same EXCEPT I switched it around when it came to the lettuce, cheese and olives. I put the shredded cheddar cheese, then the lettuce, then the olives. I found I liked the look of it better, AND I could make the layered dip a day ahead (up to the cheese layer), then the next day I chopped up the lettuce (so no wilting and stayed crisp), then added the olives. This took hardly any time to do that, and I think this tastes better if made a day ahead. I'm not one for very spicy food, but I liked the flavor of this without all the heat. If you do like it hotter you can spice it up by using refried beans with a lot more kick. One more thing I'll mention (I know someone else commented) in the video I was turned off by her whole hand (up to her knuckle) going into the dip when she scooped it out with the chip. My solution for this is I put a tablespoon in the dish, so people could scoop it out with the spoon and put it on the nacho chip (worked for me). I will be making this again. Thank you Sue for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Everyone in my family loved this dip, even the hard to please kids. Its great for any occasion. I love you website and I use it all the time. Keepum comin! Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Channahon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Fantastic! Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Ferguson
Home Town: Russell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
The best seven layer dip! The lettuce gives it a great crunch. Be sure to dry of the lettuce well and choose a salsa that is not watery. It makes a lot of dip, I used a 9 x 13 inch glass dish and it filled it. I skipped the tomatoes and used red bell peppers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
It was a real hit ..Did not put olives on the top because I don't care for them and could not find fried beans soused hamburg meat instead .Will make again next week for family reunion .It is a five star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and received nothing but praise for it! Great make-ahead dish that also travels well. It will be my go-to appetizer recipes for functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Just made this yet again. Actually had someone knocking on my door the day after I made it asking if there was any left! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made this for the 4th and everyone loved it. I also decorated the top to look like a flag using black olives sliced up and formed stars and cherry tomatoes sliced for the rows. The cheese was the top layer to pull it off. I realized later that I could have used white cheese to make it look even better. I will make this again very soon as it was so easy and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This recipe is a hit with my family- although I have a couple of suggestions. Most importantly- add guacamole. It's simply not as good without it. Second- it's good the first day, but better the second day. Therefore, I didn't add the lettuce. Not so sure that would look so pretty the second or third day. I did, however, add black beans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
A huge hit at pot lucks! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States