Seven Layer Mixed Up Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I've made it a couple of times. I'm not fond of onions so I left them out the second time. The sweetness of the peas is great with the crunch of the celery and bacon. I added another teaspoon of salad dressing mix the second time. TIP: I tossed the half frozen peas in because I was late for a potluck. It kept the mixture cold until I got there. A friend suggested I add roasted peanuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I added a little more ranch mix than called for. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
What do you do with a box of peas and some leftover cooked bacon? Make this salad! Not content to leave well enough alone, I made a few changes. Didn't have grape tomatoes - used a chopped, seeded tomato instead. Added crushed garlic, dill, extra ranch powder, a bit of cayenne pepper and a splash of red wine vinegar. I also threw in a few tablespoons of mayo and used half cheddar, half bleu cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was so delish, I had two people ask for the recipe. It's super yummy, super fast and a super hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I was surprised by how much I like this recipe. Also, surprised that I'd never thought of this myself. Everything I love about traditional 7 layer salad, simplified, and ready to serve in just an hour. Brilliant. I add hard boiled eggs, and cashews to mine. Sometimes, I miss the iceberg lettuce, so I use this as a topping to lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was very, very yummy! I added chopped brocolli instead of the tomatoes, and I used purple onion instead of green onion. I also added a little more of the salad dressing powder. I will definitely make again. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I thought this was good, but I missed the lettuce. Next time I will use this as a topping on a bed of lettuce, and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Made it for a potluck and had to give the recipe to everyone there. I did quarter the tomatoes to make them alittle easier to eat. Also added a little mayo to the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Just ok. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
People at the picnic I took this salad to raved about it. I liked this recipe but I wished I had cooked the peas and not merely thawed them. The salad was better the longer it sat in the fridge but it was absolutely BEST when I stirred the remainder into store bought potato salad. I don't think I will ever make potato salad any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States