Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
my mom/sister used to make this and was very happy when I stumbled across the recipe! I used the exact ingredients but put the stick of butter in the pan while oven was preheating, once melted I took pan out of oven and sprinkled 1 1/2 cups cracker crumbs, then pressed down and layered rest of ingredients, then pressed all ingredients down with spatula. Once baked everything stuck together wonderfully and tasted like I rememered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Amazing taste...every kind of sweetness all put together in one bar. The only think I changed was the crust, and this was out of necessity. I live overseas and don't have access to graham crackers, so I made my crust with 2 cups oatmeal and 3/4cup but. I added some cinnamon too. I baked this in the pan for 5 minutes before layering. They turned out great, and not crumbling. The hardest thing about this recipe is waiting for the bars to cool and set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
More like candy than bars. So, so good. I recommend pouring the milk over the everything (including coconut) as a glue, as recommended by others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
After reading recipes for this type of bar for years I finally decided to try to make a batch for an end of the school year potluck. People LOVED them. I did not use nuts. The next time I make them (and there will be a next time) I will toss the chocolate and butterscotch chips together first (or put the butterscotch down first because I like the way the chocolate looks better). I'll probably butter then pan, too. I couldn't let them set for as long as they needed, so I'll probably make them the day before next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My mother gave me this recipe years and years ago. But, as others have stated, the sweetened condensed milk gets drizzled over everything last. I just made these to take to a party tomorrow night and I lined my baking dish with Reynolds non-stick foil. I left enough hanging over at the ends, so when cooled, I should be able to just lift them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
YUM! I do make a crust with the butter and crumbs, and pour the milk on top, but otherwise everything stays the same. Great base for a really versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These are awesome! My mom used to make them when I was little. I made them according to this recipe and they didn't taste just like the ones I had when I was young (of course, what does?). So I went back to my mom's recipe box. The original Borden recipe calls for the milk to be poured on last (over all the ingredients). I did another batch doing it that way (what a hardship--LOL) and they turned out "just like mom used to make). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe, easy to make! Impossible to resist. I did add some toffee chips once, but there is so much stuff in these, they got lost. You can cut the butter a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSierra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liz.fox
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
these are always a hit with my family! in fact, we can only make them at holiday time for fear of our waists doubling in a month. I make sure to crush the graham crackers in the pan & drizzle the butter over them instead of mixing the two first and then pressing it into the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
MMMM! I made several batches of these bars to give away during the holidays. A big hit. These are very rich so, I could only stomach 3 at one time. Hehehe! Very crumbly but the crumbs make a nice ice cream topping. Next time I make these, I'll substitute the butterscotch chips for peanut butter chips or something else (I'm not a big butterscotch fan although the cookies were fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States