Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I agree with some previous suggestions such as pour half the sweetened condensed milk over the crust. In addition, I added 1/4 cup brown sugar to the crust recipe-this was delicious and also helped it stick together. Also, I never cared for the way the coconut fell off the top and seemed too dry and crunchy, so I layered it this way: first the crust, 1/3 to 1/2 can of the milk, chocolate chips, the coconut, 1/2 of the nuts, the butterscotch chips and the other 1/2 of the nuts (I did 1/2 cup walnuts, and 1/2 cup pecans).I thought they turned out very well this way. Super rich and delicious! And no more flaky, burnt coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I never mixed the butter and crumbs together. I melt the butter and pour into pan then add crumbs on top. I do use a glass pan and add enough crumbs till butter quits bleeding thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is much much too sweet and God knows I have a sweet tooth. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chambly, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
A classic, delicious. The secret to getting the bars to stay together is chilling them before you cut them up. If you chill them, it takes a little more force to cut them up but once cut they will hold their shape and pop right out of the pan. A thin, flat metal spatula (such as an offset spatula used to ice a cake) will also help in removing the bars from the pan. Alternatively, you can line the pan with parchment, leaving a little parchment to hang over two sides of the pan. Run a knife or spatula around the edge of the pan to loosen the edges of the bars (again, after chilling) and then pull on the paper to remove the bars in a single piece. Place on a cutting board and use a chef knife to cut into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Classic- perfect. I made these exactly as directed and had no trouble with sticking like some reviewers. I did spray the pan with Pam and used a meat pounder to pack down the graham cracker crumbs. I think this helps the bars to come out easier- I do this for my cheesecakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
always an awesome dessert, i love to mix up what i put in there, cashews and m&m's are delicious substitutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by id3253

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is the 2nd time I've made these bars, and although very tasty - I keep loosing half the graham cracker crust in the pan. I added and extra tbsp butter thinking it would hold it together better and this time poured the whole can of cond. milk over the crumbs again thinking it would hold the crust together better (last time I split the can as other reviews suggested) I don't know what am I doing wrong these are wonerful in taste, they just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Fuller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
great recipe -- wow are these rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wonderful, I added almonds though, even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I do not think ZThe graham Cracker portion is correct for this size of a pan. But after I chanegd the amount it was fine. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States