Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These were amazing!!!!!! I followed the other comments and poured the melted butter into the pan first then put the crushed graham crackers on top. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I got a new laptop o lost all my old recipes the other 1 I had for this was to put the milk on top of it all. I also use pecans for mine. But very yummy, my 16 year old son just put his first batch in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Really good! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Here are some things that I did to make these magic cookie bars taste amazing and not fall apart: Increase graham cracker crumbs to 2 cups and you may want to increase the butter to probably about a 1 stick and 1/2 stick; Grease 13*9 pan with cooking spray; Next, spread the melted butter on top of the cooking spray; Sprinkle graham cracker crumbs onto butter and press firmly with palm of hand; Then drizzle some sweetened condensed milk on top of graham cracker crumbs; Stir together chips, coconut, and nuts and pour on top of condensed milk and make sure it's evenly distributed; Pour remaining condensed milk on top of mixture. These tips will help the bars not crumble and make them taste wonderful. Hope this helps. After these alterations, I would give them 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I agree with some previous suggestions such as pour half the sweetened condensed milk over the crust. In addition, I added 1/4 cup brown sugar to the crust recipe-this was delicious and also helped it stick together. Also, I never cared for the way the coconut fell off the top and seemed too dry and crunchy, so I layered it this way: first the crust, 1/3 to 1/2 can of the milk, chocolate chips, the coconut, 1/2 of the nuts, the butterscotch chips and the other 1/2 of the nuts (I did 1/2 cup walnuts, and 1/2 cup pecans).I thought they turned out very well this way. Super rich and delicious! And no more flaky, burnt coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I never mixed the butter and crumbs together. I melt the butter and pour into pan then add crumbs on top. I do use a glass pan and add enough crumbs till butter quits bleeding thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is much much too sweet and God knows I have a sweet tooth. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chambly, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
A classic, delicious. The secret to getting the bars to stay together is chilling them before you cut them up. If you chill them, it takes a little more force to cut them up but once cut they will hold their shape and pop right out of the pan. A thin, flat metal spatula (such as an offset spatula used to ice a cake) will also help in removing the bars from the pan. Alternatively, you can line the pan with parchment, leaving a little parchment to hang over two sides of the pan. Run a knife or spatula around the edge of the pan to loosen the edges of the bars (again, after chilling) and then pull on the paper to remove the bars in a single piece. Place on a cutting board and use a chef knife to cut into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Classic- perfect. I made these exactly as directed and had no trouble with sticking like some reviewers. I did spray the pan with Pam and used a meat pounder to pack down the graham cracker crumbs. I think this helps the bars to come out easier- I do this for my cheesecakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
always an awesome dessert, i love to mix up what i put in there, cashews and m&m's are delicious substitutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by id3253

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States