Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
These were very tasty! I followed the recipe as stated and the only complication I had was that I didn’t have enough graham cracker crust for the bottom of my 9x13 pan. I added some extra graham crackers to patch the holes and it worked ok, but the bottom was a bit on the crumbly side. I would suggest increasing the graham cracker crumbs to 1 ½ cups and the butter to ¾ cup. The taste made up for the crumbly bar and I will add this one to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
We've tried various techniques for this recipe and found that melting the butter then adding the graham cracker crumbs works great. We've also found that if you drizzle a bit of the sweetened milk over that BEFORE you layer the rest the bars will stick together better. Spray the pan with non-stick spray first. We've never had a problem with crumbling or sticking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Yummy! These bars were very good! I did make them a little differently; instead of stirring the graham cracker crumbs and butter together, I poured the melted butter into the bottom of the pan and sprinkled the crumbs on top. I layered the coconut, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, and nuts on top and than poured the sweetened condensed milk over everything. I think they are much easier to make this way, and they look and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a classic! And, there's really virtually nothing you can do to screw it up. It's not like there's any complicated directions or measuring here. It's straightforward and all the ingredients come together to compliment each other. I crushed my graham crackers by putting them into a ziploc bag and going over them with a rolling pin. I used a throw away tin to bake these in that I sprayed with a little Pam. I follwed the recipe exactly substituting white chocolate chips for the butterscotch as that's what I had on hand. These were so easy and oh so delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Couldn't find my recipe I've used many times and was disappointed that the bar didn't cut well- ended up very crumbly. Found that the recommendation to mix the butter and crackers together didn't create a firm enough base to hold bars together. Have since found my old recipe which has you sprinkle the graham crackers over the melted butter in the pan, pour half the milk over then add less chips (so over it's not too chocately) add nuts then coconut then pour the balance of condensed milk over the entire mixture. It seems to come out firmer so you can cut bars that stay together. However, it was as tasty as ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Very easy and Very good, my only change would be to follow other recipes that call for the condensed milk to be poured over everything LAST. The recipe as is doesnt leave much for the coconut to adhere to, thus there were a lot of crumbs left in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
These are so good and so very easy! I guess mine were six layer bars, as I didn't put the nuts on (but I did add more chips.) I sprayed my glass pan with a bit of Pam spray before putting in the cracker crumbs, and after cooling, I had no problems removing from the pan. I also had to use about 2 cups of graham cracker crums, as it didn't spread over the entire pan. (I just added more dry crumbs to the mixture already pressed down and sprayed a bit of the Pam on it to moisten.) Thanks for sharing - these are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I've been making these with my mom for years, and everyone always loves them. I would've given it 5 stars except I made a few changes: there wasn't enough graham cracker crust for the bottom, and I drizzled the condensed milk at the very end, over the chips and nuts. Excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
i loved em ! i also tried something with them, and it turned out pretty good. i cut them into small enough pieces to fit in an ice cube tray ,melted ice cream and poured it over the top of them ,stuck it in the freezer and made ice cream bars.yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Really yummy. Graham cracker crust was a little crumbly so the second time I made it with a cookie dough crust and it was really good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States