Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These did not turn out at all. I upped the graham cracker crumbs to 2 cups - per many reviewers recommendation and upped the butter to 3/4 cup. Had to bake them longer than 25 minutes and they still turned out soggy on the bottom and too gooey to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
LOVED them and couldn't stop eating them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My family just loves these! like a few others, I poured the butter into the pan, sprinkled the crumbs on top (I used two cups), and then mixed it in the pan. I also lightly sprayed the top of the crust with cooking spray to make sure it wasn't too dry. Rather than layering the chips, I mixed them together with half of the condensed milk, spooned them on top of the "crust" then layered with the coconut and walnuts. Before baking I drizzled the other half of the condensed milk on top to give it a caramelized look- plus I think it might help it stick together a little better. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xhenifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are called Granny's cookies in my family and it wouldn't be Christmas without them. Spread the crumbs evenly and press them down firmly so they're flat, not curving up against the edge of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Absolutely sinful and rich. I have a major sweet tooth and these fit the bill perfectly! I followed the recipe completely as is and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've been making this recipe for YEARS! It's a holiday favorite to give to family and friends. I do recommend using SALTED butter, as it compliments the sweetness all the other ingredients. I only had unsalted and realized that was the only thing missing from the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My mom makes these every year for Christmas. I'm not a big fan of the butterscotch chips, so I substituted peanut butter chips instead. I also used 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs and 3/4 cup shortening and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Make sure you cut these into tiny squares. They are VERY sweet (and delicious). I leave out the nuts because I don't like them in cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
You can also use a dry brownie mix in place of the graham crackers. It is out of this world good.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Umm.....HEAVEN!!! I didn't have butterscotch chips so I used white chocolate chips with semi-sweet chocolate chips & no nuts. Pure HEAVEN. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States