Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
YUM! I do make a crust with the butter and crumbs, and pour the milk on top, but otherwise everything stays the same. Great base for a really versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These are awesome! My mom used to make them when I was little. I made them according to this recipe and they didn't taste just like the ones I had when I was young (of course, what does?). So I went back to my mom's recipe box. The original Borden recipe calls for the milk to be poured on last (over all the ingredients). I did another batch doing it that way (what a hardship--LOL) and they turned out "just like mom used to make). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe, easy to make! Impossible to resist. I did add some toffee chips once, but there is so much stuff in these, they got lost. You can cut the butter a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSierra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liz.fox
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
these are always a hit with my family! in fact, we can only make them at holiday time for fear of our waists doubling in a month. I make sure to crush the graham crackers in the pan & drizzle the butter over them instead of mixing the two first and then pressing it into the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
MMMM! I made several batches of these bars to give away during the holidays. A big hit. These are very rich so, I could only stomach 3 at one time. Hehehe! Very crumbly but the crumbs make a nice ice cream topping. Next time I make these, I'll substitute the butterscotch chips for peanut butter chips or something else (I'm not a big butterscotch fan although the cookies were fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These did not turn out at all. I upped the graham cracker crumbs to 2 cups - per many reviewers recommendation and upped the butter to 3/4 cup. Had to bake them longer than 25 minutes and they still turned out soggy on the bottom and too gooey to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
LOVED them and couldn't stop eating them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My family just loves these! like a few others, I poured the butter into the pan, sprinkled the crumbs on top (I used two cups), and then mixed it in the pan. I also lightly sprayed the top of the crust with cooking spray to make sure it wasn't too dry. Rather than layering the chips, I mixed them together with half of the condensed milk, spooned them on top of the "crust" then layered with the coconut and walnuts. Before baking I drizzled the other half of the condensed milk on top to give it a caramelized look- plus I think it might help it stick together a little better. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xhenifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are called Granny's cookies in my family and it wouldn't be Christmas without them. Spread the crumbs evenly and press them down firmly so they're flat, not curving up against the edge of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Absolutely sinful and rich. I have a major sweet tooth and these fit the bill perfectly! I followed the recipe completely as is and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States