Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mapleville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Couldn't find my recipe I've used many times and was disappointed that the bar didn't cut well- ended up very crumbly. Found that the recommendation to mix the butter and crackers together didn't create a firm enough base to hold bars together. Have since found my old recipe which has you sprinkle the graham crackers over the melted butter in the pan, pour half the milk over then add less chips (so over it's not too chocately) add nuts then coconut then pour the balance of condensed milk over the entire mixture. It seems to come out firmer so you can cut bars that stay together. However, it was as tasty as ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I switched the walnuts to dry roasted peanuts, and use the swirl peanut butter/milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet and butterscotch chips. I also added half a cup more of graham cracker crumbs to make a more even crust. I melted the butter in the pan first and swirled it on the sides and around the bottom. I also poured the sweetened condensed milk over the mixture and then added the coconut - this helped make the coconut stick and not flake off. They turned out great! I brought them to a meeting and they were gone within 10 minutes and I got requests to bring them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
My Mom has been making these Seven Layer Cookies for the holidays for as long as I can remember. They are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanilla Sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This turned out very good. I wanted surprise hubby for his birthday with one of his favorite desserts that I had not made for him since we met 2 years agao. My hubby said, "You did good baby". So that says alot. I did use some Pam to coat the glass dish some, and I had no problem with it sticking/crumbling when cut. Also, I mixed my butter and crushed crackers than molded into bottom of pan. (Also, we used all the chips, but are adding Heath Pieces this time around, as he likes those. We see how it turns out, but you can be creative....Raisins maybe even? )Delicious~ Good Luck if you make~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I remember the original recipe called for melting the butter in the 9x13 first then sprinkling the graham cracker crumbs over the top and pressing it before the rest of the layers. You have to be careful not to burn yourself, but the crust does not get too crumbly that way. I love these so much and never use nuts as we are allergic! Sprinkle with red and green sugar for a Christmas time cookie, Orange for Halloween and Easter colors at that time of year! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
my mom/sister used to make this and was very happy when I stumbled across the recipe! I used the exact ingredients but put the stick of butter in the pan while oven was preheating, once melted I took pan out of oven and sprinkled 1 1/2 cups cracker crumbs, then pressed down and layered rest of ingredients, then pressed all ingredients down with spatula. Once baked everything stuck together wonderfully and tasted like I rememered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Amazing taste...every kind of sweetness all put together in one bar. The only think I changed was the crust, and this was out of necessity. I live overseas and don't have access to graham crackers, so I made my crust with 2 cups oatmeal and 3/4cup but. I added some cinnamon too. I baked this in the pan for 5 minutes before layering. They turned out great, and not crumbling. The hardest thing about this recipe is waiting for the bars to cool and set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
More like candy than bars. So, so good. I recommend pouring the milk over the everything (including coconut) as a glue, as recommended by others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
After reading recipes for this type of bar for years I finally decided to try to make a batch for an end of the school year potluck. People LOVED them. I did not use nuts. The next time I make them (and there will be a next time) I will toss the chocolate and butterscotch chips together first (or put the butterscotch down first because I like the way the chocolate looks better). I'll probably butter then pan, too. I couldn't let them set for as long as they needed, so I'll probably make them the day before next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States