Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We've been making these since the early 70s. We do melt the butter in the pan first and pour the condensed milk as a single layer. We use walnuts, not peanuts. If you don't have access to pre-made graham crackers or crumbs, make them yourself. They are really easy to make. It just takes a bit of time, as the dough needs to chill an hour in the fridge. Baking time is only 15 minutes. You can make them up ahead, keep them for other things like impromptu S'more's. =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
THIS IS WHAT I DO- FOR A 7 LAYER COOKIE PIE- I USE A PRE-MADE KEEBLER PIE CRUST, AND CUT THE AMOUNTS IN HALF- OR USE TWO CRUSTS AND DIVIDE THE INGREDIENTS UP! GREAT TO GIVE TO THE NEIGHBORS, AS A GIFT! AND FOR AN EXTRA SPECIAL TOUCH? I DRIZZLE HERSHEY'S SYRUP AND CARAMEL TOPPING ALL OVER THE TOP OF IT- IT LOOKS SPECTACULAR WHEN I DO THIS- PEOPLE ''OOOH AND AHHHHH'' WHEN THEY SEE IT! SO MUCH EASIER DOING THIS IN A PIE FORM- AND FAST AS WELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Excellent, the kids love it. thanx Louisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Witbank, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
To make these even easier, melt the butter in baking dish, then sprinkle on Graham Crumbs, pat out, then follow rest of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These bars are as easy as they are delicious. My mom made them for us growing up and now I make them for my family. They are a bit rich, but everyone gobbles them up every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My husband had these at work and loved them, so naturally I'm looking up the recipe and making them days later...I was pleasantly surprised by these! I used an 8x8 pan, because i wanted them thicker, lined and spray for easier removal and cutting. I actually poured the milk over the top of the coconut, and it sank through while it was cooking. My only problem was getting it to set up, so i eventually put it in the fridge. Thanks for an easy, taste cookie bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mapleville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Couldn't find my recipe I've used many times and was disappointed that the bar didn't cut well- ended up very crumbly. Found that the recommendation to mix the butter and crackers together didn't create a firm enough base to hold bars together. Have since found my old recipe which has you sprinkle the graham crackers over the melted butter in the pan, pour half the milk over then add less chips (so over it's not too chocately) add nuts then coconut then pour the balance of condensed milk over the entire mixture. It seems to come out firmer so you can cut bars that stay together. However, it was as tasty as ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I switched the walnuts to dry roasted peanuts, and use the swirl peanut butter/milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet and butterscotch chips. I also added half a cup more of graham cracker crumbs to make a more even crust. I melted the butter in the pan first and swirled it on the sides and around the bottom. I also poured the sweetened condensed milk over the mixture and then added the coconut - this helped make the coconut stick and not flake off. They turned out great! I brought them to a meeting and they were gone within 10 minutes and I got requests to bring them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
My Mom has been making these Seven Layer Cookies for the holidays for as long as I can remember. They are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanilla Sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States