Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Here's what I did: Sprayed the pan first; Melted the butter & poured it in the pan, added the graham cracker crumbs. Then I added a little more than 1/2 the can of Eagle Brand, until the bottom was covered. Then I added Choc & Butterscotch Chips & Coconut (No nuts). Press everything down with a fork, Then drizzled the rest of the Eagle Brand on top & bake. **I feel that it is missing something & it's not the nuts. Maybe it's just that the butterscotch chips didn't really melt. Maybe next time, I will add a little less Butterscotch & a litte more Chocolate** It is VERY good though & super easy (Only like 5 min of prep!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
A Christmas staple at my mom's house, and now mine! We've made these for so many years, we know the recipe by heart :) One thing that we have always done, is put the stick of butter in the pan, and put the pan in the oven while it is warming up, but only long enough to melt the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
The taste was wonderful, use a bit more butter in the graham crumbs. Only issue I had was getting them out of the PAN! Would like to see suggestions for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These fell apart. I think the layering isn't quite right? My chips were on top and they didn't melt well and then a lot fell off when you cut them into bars. I think the eagle brand should go on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We've been making these since the early 70s. We do melt the butter in the pan first and pour the condensed milk as a single layer. We use walnuts, not peanuts. If you don't have access to pre-made graham crackers or crumbs, make them yourself. They are really easy to make. It just takes a bit of time, as the dough needs to chill an hour in the fridge. Baking time is only 15 minutes. You can make them up ahead, keep them for other things like impromptu S'more's. =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
THIS IS WHAT I DO- FOR A 7 LAYER COOKIE PIE- I USE A PRE-MADE KEEBLER PIE CRUST, AND CUT THE AMOUNTS IN HALF- OR USE TWO CRUSTS AND DIVIDE THE INGREDIENTS UP! GREAT TO GIVE TO THE NEIGHBORS, AS A GIFT! AND FOR AN EXTRA SPECIAL TOUCH? I DRIZZLE HERSHEY'S SYRUP AND CARAMEL TOPPING ALL OVER THE TOP OF IT- IT LOOKS SPECTACULAR WHEN I DO THIS- PEOPLE ''OOOH AND AHHHHH'' WHEN THEY SEE IT! SO MUCH EASIER DOING THIS IN A PIE FORM- AND FAST AS WELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Excellent, the kids love it. thanx Louisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Witbank, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
To make these even easier, melt the butter in baking dish, then sprinkle on Graham Crumbs, pat out, then follow rest of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These bars are as easy as they are delicious. My mom made them for us growing up and now I make them for my family. They are a bit rich, but everyone gobbles them up every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My husband had these at work and loved them, so naturally I'm looking up the recipe and making them days later...I was pleasantly surprised by these! I used an 8x8 pan, because i wanted them thicker, lined and spray for easier removal and cutting. I actually poured the milk over the top of the coconut, and it sank through while it was cooking. My only problem was getting it to set up, so i eventually put it in the fridge. Thanks for an easy, taste cookie bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States