Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an easy recipe to tweek to your personal taste, and it comes out very good tasting and it can serve a lot if you cut it into sm sizes. I took some of the previous suggestion in customizing it. I did my own tweeking: Increased crumbs to 2 C + added 3 TBSP butter to make crust. Than I took prev suggestion of adding 1/2 can of condensed milk on crust, it made a HUGE difference in taste + keeping the crust from falling apart. I also dec butterscotch chips + semi-sweet chips to 1/2 C each and added 1/2 C each of bittersweet + 1/2 C milk chocolate chip. I used peanuts as the nut + added toasted coconut as the top ingredient. Finally, I also took another prev suggestion of adding the other 1/2 can of condensed milk on top (this came out tasting like a coconut macaroon, yum-o). Like I wrote, easy recipe to tweek to your own taste. Take this to your next gathering and you will make new friends, otherwise you'll end up eating it all up (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These were amazing! I followed some of the suggestions in other reviews, such as pouring half of the condensed milk over the initial graham cracker layer and then the rest over the entire layered dish before baking. I also changed things up and did a recipe with milk chocolate chips and peanut butter, sans the coconut, as well as a triple-chocolate version with semi-sweet chips, milk chocolate chip and white chocolate chips. Any chips or variations you try, the outcome is delicious. We made 4 different kinds and handed them out to neighbors and our UPS/FedEv delivery drivers for Christmas. What a treat indeed! Like little homemade candy bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Super tasty but also super sugary. I would also melt the butter in the pan and sprinkle the graham crackers on top for the most even coating. Some extra grahams wouldn't be unwanted in the recipe either. Despite any criticisms, I love these cookies. So many delicious ingredients... it's hard to go too terribly wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Love these bars! However, I made this twice with and without nuts. Got better reviews with out nuts! Also, I add the condensed milk last as to bind everything together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a classic! And, there's really virtually nothing you can do to screw it up. It's not like there's any complicated directions or measuring here. It's straightforward and all the ingredients come together to compliment each other. I crushed my graham crackers by putting them into a ziploc bag and going over them with a rolling pin. I used a throw away tin to bake these in that I sprayed with a little Pam. I follwed the recipe exactly substituting white chocolate chips for the butterscotch as that's what I had on hand. These were so easy and oh so delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Here's what I did: Sprayed the pan first; Melted the butter & poured it in the pan, added the graham cracker crumbs. Then I added a little more than 1/2 the can of Eagle Brand, until the bottom was covered. Then I added Choc & Butterscotch Chips & Coconut (No nuts). Press everything down with a fork, Then drizzled the rest of the Eagle Brand on top & bake. **I feel that it is missing something & it's not the nuts. Maybe it's just that the butterscotch chips didn't really melt. Maybe next time, I will add a little less Butterscotch & a litte more Chocolate** It is VERY good though & super easy (Only like 5 min of prep!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
A Christmas staple at my mom's house, and now mine! We've made these for so many years, we know the recipe by heart :) One thing that we have always done, is put the stick of butter in the pan, and put the pan in the oven while it is warming up, but only long enough to melt the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
The taste was wonderful, use a bit more butter in the graham crumbs. Only issue I had was getting them out of the PAN! Would like to see suggestions for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These fell apart. I think the layering isn't quite right? My chips were on top and they didn't melt well and then a lot fell off when you cut them into bars. I think the eagle brand should go on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We've been making these since the early 70s. We do melt the butter in the pan first and pour the condensed milk as a single layer. We use walnuts, not peanuts. If you don't have access to pre-made graham crackers or crumbs, make them yourself. They are really easy to make. It just takes a bit of time, as the dough needs to chill an hour in the fridge. Baking time is only 15 minutes. You can make them up ahead, keep them for other things like impromptu S'more's. =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States