Seven Layer Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is the 2nd time I've made these bars, and although very tasty - I keep loosing half the graham cracker crust in the pan. I added and extra tbsp butter thinking it would hold it together better and this time poured the whole can of cond. milk over the crumbs again thinking it would hold the crust together better (last time I split the can as other reviews suggested) I don't know what am I doing wrong these are wonerful in taste, they just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
great recipe -- wow are these rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wonderful, I added almonds though, even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I do not think ZThe graham Cracker portion is correct for this size of a pan. But after I chanegd the amount it was fine. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
How do others deal with the thick, heavy paste-like quality of the Sw. Cond. Milk? I made this a few times a couple years ago using evaporated milk and it never really solidified even if baked long, so this time I opted for cond. milk and it is so darn thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have been making these bars for over 20 yrs. They always go over well! I would suggest that you punch 2 holes in the Eagle Brand can to drizzle it ON THE TOP before baking. It keeps the bars together and gives a lovely finish to the coconut and nut topping. The adding of butterscotch morsels is also a good thing. And if you have access to Georgia pecans, all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
classic cookie. have loved this for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
these are some of our favorite bars. the only thing I do different is to add a layer of crispy rice cereal over the nut layer. out of this world good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I've made other recipes like this in the past but this is by far the best one. I did follow the other reviewers' suggestions to pour half of the condensed milk over the graham cracker crumbs (I crushed one sleeve of crackers - perfect amount) and the other half over the top of the coconut (pour carefully because you won't be able to spread the condensed milk - it soaks in where it lands and makes it nearly impossible to press down with a fork because it is so sticky). Mine quickly browned up after being in the oven for only 21 minutes. I will definitely make this again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an easy recipe to tweek to your personal taste, and it comes out very good tasting and it can serve a lot if you cut it into sm sizes. I took some of the previous suggestion in customizing it. I did my own tweeking: Increased crumbs to 2 C + added 3 TBSP butter to make crust. Than I took prev suggestion of adding 1/2 can of condensed milk on crust, it made a HUGE difference in taste + keeping the crust from falling apart. I also dec butterscotch chips + semi-sweet chips to 1/2 C each and added 1/2 C each of bittersweet + 1/2 C milk chocolate chip. I used peanuts as the nut + added toasted coconut as the top ingredient. Finally, I also took another prev suggestion of adding the other 1/2 can of condensed milk on top (this came out tasting like a coconut macaroon, yum-o). Like I wrote, easy recipe to tweek to your own taste. Take this to your next gathering and you will make new friends, otherwise you'll end up eating it all up (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States