Seven Layer Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Awesome! I made this for my little girl's birthday party. I made it into individual servings in clear plastic cups and they looked amazing. Went with the rainbow colors mostly- grape, blue, lime,orange, apricot, strawberry, cherry. I did not use evaporated milk and just subbed the water with vanilla ice cream on every other layer-soo yummy! The kids were amazed when I brought them out and thought they were soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I've made this for over 20 years but I use sour cream instead of the evaporated milk. Use to take me hours to make it till I starte putting each layer in the freezer for about 15 minutes. Don't leave it in the freezer too long or the layers won't stick to each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is essentially the exact same recipe that my Nana gave me years ago. It is easy and fun to make, and pretty to look at. However, it is really time consuming. It's a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very easy recipe! I saw someone else's gorgeous pic and knew I would finally be able to use up those packages of gelatin that have been taking up space in my pantry, although I had mostly red/purple flavors, so my layers were not so dramatic. Still, even though I nearly ruined it (instead of just dipping the bundt pan I used in hot water to loosen, I plopped it down in the sink and forgot about it for a few seconds...don't do that!) after that heart-stopping "splat!", my dessert was pretty much still intact and attractive - just a little gelatin had melted. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I make a very simalar one only I use 8 layers and instead of the milk & whip cream I use ice cream. if you take a hlaf gallon of ice cream and cut in into 8 equal pieces. then disole the jello in a cup of water and use the ice cream as the cold water and layer the same. Just made it for a shower. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a very pretty gelatin salad. I wanted to make it in my jello mold, so I poured half of each batch of liquid gelatin into the mold and the other half into a greased loaf pan. This worked perfectly! The gelatin looked great and tasted great also! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Make sure you leave plenty of time to add all of the layers! Its jello - it's refreshing, and it made a really lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was great! I did smaller layers & used 1/2 small box of jello for each layer. I did 10 layers total. I also used plain yogurt instead of the condensed milk. For the clear layer I used the 1/2 box jello, dissolving 1/3c. boiling water, then adding 2 icecubes & enough water to equal 1/3 cup. Then I pour this into the pan & let set for 30 min. While that is setting I make the cloudy layer with 1/2 box jello, 1/3 c. boiling water, 2 ice cubes & enough water to equal 1/4 c. cold water. Then I add 1/4 c. plain yogurt & mix well with a whisk. Let this sit on counter while other layer is setting up in fridge & when timer beeps, add the cloudy layer & repeat process! It was fun & delicious. I did red & green jellos for christmas but you could do any color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Good, but very time consuming. I remember my mom's version of this recipe tasting better---I think she may have used sour cream. It did make a very pretty presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Very good. Time consuming but delicious. Instead of milk you can also use sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momwholovestocook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States