Seven Layer Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
this recipe helped me figure out that my refrigerator is on a slant, which i never realized. it worked out in my favor though, every other layer i would turn the dish the opposite direction--and i had a cool angled effect to this dish. soo yummy and pretty, just time consuming. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This turned out perfect! I used a bundt pan let chill till they were set and it didn't take quite 20 mins. My layers stayed together with no problems. Be sure if you turn it out onto a plate to spray the plate and also if you cover it with foil be sure and spray the foil. It is wiggly wobbly sticky Jello goodness =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Brandy
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I made this in a trifle dish for my sister's colorful wedding. It was beautiful and tasty but I'm only rating the recipe three stars because I had major trouble with the directions. I ended up having to throw my first attempt out because, despite following the directions exactly, the layers melted one another and formed one big black unappetizing layer. My second attempt, however, I decided to stir in 3/4 cups of ice cubes instead of the water to bring down the temperature of the gelatin before adding it to the solid layers. That worked MUCH better. I also let them solidify for a full 60 minutes instead of 45. I read on the internet that there might be problems with letting them completely solidify because the layers may end up separating when they are unmolded but I had no problems with that (of course, I didn't "unmold" the layers because they were in a trifle dish...but when dishing out the layers they adhered perfectly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
this recipe is great when made in a angel food cake pan. My sister always made this for special parties or holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS13JOSEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeadHeaded
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Everyone liked it. I only used two flavors because my party colors were all pink and green, so I used strawberry and lime. The trifle dish I used was HUGE so mine ended up being eight gelatin layers plus the whipped topping. Not at all fun to make, took an entire day as my layers were not close to set after 45 minutes, it took more like one hour plus. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Awesome! I made it with only six layers and put them in rainbow order. My kids LOVED it! (I did too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by photoang23
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this for a Sponge Bob birthday party and the kids loved it. The only trouble I had was getting the last layer out of the pan. Be sure to wait the 45 minutes, or more, between each layer so that the colors don't mix. There is always room for jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photoang23
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was very yummy and very pretty to look at. I didn't have cooking spray, so I just greased the pan.. that didn't work too well. My last layer didn't come off. I used a 11x13 pan, and it worked fine. One thing to watch out for is that you really spoon on the layers. I poured in my third layer and it made a hole in the second layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Time consuming but worth it!! Very pretty and makes a great low fat snack. Topped with lite whip cream and it was yummy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Fun recipe! Spraying the bundt pan with pam is important. Even with this precaution I had to jiggle it and coax it away from the sides of the pan before turning it upside down on the plate. Given the number of layers, it made about 10lbs of jello. Too much for our little get together- had to throw a lot of the leftovers out b/c we couldn't finish it in time (generally a BIG no-no, but considering it was just Jello... no guilt there). For those who aren't big Jello fans: the evaporated milk layers are reminiscent of cheesecake... esp with placed next to strawberry or raspberry layers. Its by no means cheesecake, don't mistake me. But it IS an interesting twist. We liked it & will make it again, next time in individual bowls. Two words of warning: make sure each layer sets before the next one is added. Second: don't put yellow next to blue. Somehow, despite allowing a whole day to set in-between these layers, they still melded together and made a huge "icky" green color that kind of marred the effect. Still turned out nice however- esp when sliced. All and all I'd say this is easy, tasty, fun for kids AND adults, and totally worth the time and refrigerator space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States