Seven Layer Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years with one change. My family loves it. I use sour cream instead of evaporated milk. It is worth the effort and time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjkta1625

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This looked great in the mold as I was making it. I gave each layer 60 minutes before adding it to the previous layer. I had high hopes... I brought it to my in-laws for mother's day and popped it out of the mold and it immediately began to separate and slide off the plate. Not only that, the kids (and perhaps the adults, although they didn't say) didn't care for the evaporated milk layers. Over-all, it was a failure. I think it needs Knox gelatin in order to keep it's shape. I thought it tasted all right but I wouldn't make it again. Too much effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I have been making this for over 30 years. My sister-in-law made it all the time. It does take a long time to make but that is because a layer has to setup before the next can be poured over it. Now my grandson's love it. And they are 19 & 17. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
It tasted good; however, it's A LOT of work. I don't think I'll make this anytime soon. I don't have the patience... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotoriousYBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Kids love these! Takes awhile so plan ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Awesome! Makes a ton! Only make to take to a potluck supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very impressive to look at and definitely a conversation piece. I made it in a bundt cake pan which really showed off the layers. I used cool whip instead of evaporated milk and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Great recipe without a single change or addition of my own. Have made it for several parties and have come home with an empty bown each time. Have given out the recipe at each function because people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BB34
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this in clear plastic cups. It's very pretty the kids thought it was great fun, however too many flavors and out of 5 kids only 2 ate more than the cool whip off the top. They had a great time making it. I think if you made complimentary flavors rather than just random colors it would be okay. I'll try it again at 4th of july.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States