Seven Layer Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Great dip! Fun and easy, but not cheap. Have always relied on this recipe as a crowd pleaser. For a low-fat version that has just as much flavor, use fat free refried beans, reduced fat sour cream and reduced fat (or 2%) sharp cheddar cheese... don't much care for the flavor of the Mexican cheese blend... it might depend on the brand of cheese. Hints for making guacamole: Make sure avacados are dark green and slightly mushy. Instead of peeling the avacados, it's easier to just cut them in half, pop out the pit, and scoop the flesh out with a spoon. Go ahead and squeeze the juice of one whole lime onto the avacado... no need to measure it. In addition to adding taco seasoning to the sour cream, I also mix some with the refried beans. I prefer to spread the guacamole first, then the sour cream, since the guac is heavier. Lastly, throw on some jalapenos with the other toppings for an extra little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
i have made this dip so many times for work, every time we have a "party" its requirement! sometimes if the tomatoes don't look good in the store, i will substitute those for a layer of salsa, and it tastes excellent too. i also like mine spicy so i put in extra taco seasoning plus ancho chili powder. i've even used light sour cream and light cheese and no one knew the wiser! lastly, i like to buy the chopped olives in the can, they are so easy to use and bite sized... comes out great every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie von Schepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I made this for my Super Bowl party and my guests loved it! I personally just don't like the stuff in it but I am told it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This is always such a hit! And it is easy to adjust it to personal tastes (guacamole-hater here!). I prefer this recipe to the one I saw that blended cream cheese with the sour cream, I think that's just overdoing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by doestreich
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
We brought this for watching a football game and it was gone by the end. Very tasty (even when I substituted fat free sour cream), and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I have never made a seven layer dip before, so i was a little nervous (it was for a family get together), but everyone loved it. It was so good. My husband isn't too big on dip, but he said he really liked it. I wouldn't change anything with this recipe! Thanks for it, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
very very good - I ate 1/2 myself and now I feel a little ill but that's the quantity, not the dip...I added a layer of pickled green chillies and also a layer of salsa, left out the green onions and olives as I didn't have any but it was still great. Added chopped red onions to the guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Great recipe for parties! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Very good recipe. I just used the already made guacamole because I was short on time. I really liked the sour cream-taco seasoning mixture! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I love this recipe! I've made it several times and I always get rave reviews at parties. I wish I had more occasions to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States