Seven Layer Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I've made a version of this recipe for years with amazing results, however, I loved the salsa addition. I skipped the cilantro and made my own taco seasoning to control the salt. This stuff is so good, you don't even need chips; just a spoon! Thanks Dinah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Everyone loves this dip! The only change I make is to add the taco seasoning to the beans instead of the sour cream and I dont use the whole packet, I use 1/2 to 3/4 of it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This has been a hit at parties. The homemade guacamole makes the difference. I made one change, I added Mexican fiesta Rotelle to the guac and the dip. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this exactly as written except for using sliced olives instead of chopped. Everyone loved it. Even my husband who doesn't care all that much for beans. He finished off the leftovers the next day. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made this for our cinco de mayo party, it was really good and disappeared quickly. I used low fat sour cream to make it a little bit healthier. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I made this for a Cinco de Mayo pot-luck lunch at my husband's work, and he said it disappeared in no time. I omitted the cilantro (my husband hates it), I used more like 12 ounces of sour cream and 1½ packages of taco seasoning. I used salso instead of tomatoes, omitted the onions, used maybe 1½ cups of cheese, and omitted the olives (we're out!). Oh, and I used fat-free refried beans. It took maybe 10 minutes to make up! I saved a little sour cream/taco seasoning mixture to use as a dip here at home, we'll pick up some chips today and it's good with pretzels! Thanks for sharing, Dinah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is so good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
What a wonderful dip! We could not stop eating it. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made this dip for a superbowl party I was hosting, and to say the least, it was more of a hit than the game! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I made the following changes: 1) I added taco seasoning to the refried beans, heated it over the stove top for about 5 minutes (to get the taco flavoring throughout), and the let cool. I also added seasoning to the sour cream like the recipe said. 2) I added some crushed red peppers to the guacamole to spice it up a bit and 3) I added sliced jalapenos to the top of the dip just for an extra spicy touch. It was a huge success at the party! Will be making it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Loved this! This was my first time making this-it was great! I did change a few minor things: I made my own guacamole: 2 avacados,2 tbsp fresh lime juice & tsp salt and instead of tomatoes I used salsa, I also heated it up before serving to melt the cheese, everyone loved it! I also used lowfat sourcream, you couldn't tell the difference at all. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States