Seven Layer Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Five *'s for ingredients -- 1 * for amounts! So glad that I read the reviews and followed them. You definitely need 16 ounces of sour cream NOT 8. You also need two cups of salsa NOT one. I added taco seasoning to the meat -- if I hadn't I'm sure it would have been too bland. I also used two cups of guacamole NOT one. There is no way one cup would have spread over the entire dish. I used a cup of diced tomatoes for the top instead of 1/2 cup. This was one medium size tomato cut up and I drained the liquid by putting the diced pieces in colander before sprinkling one the top of the dish. I used 2.5 oz can of SLICED olives instead of diced. Made it for a neighborhood gathering and I called it "7 Pound Dip" because it was quite heavy to carry. Was well received but I did have some left which my husband and I are using to make a "taco salad" this evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is a pretty good recipe. I prefer it heated so the cheese is melted and gives a better taste for my preference, but nonetheless, it's good. I also made my own guacamole (by Bob Cody on allrecipes.com) and my own pico de gallo (by grneyedmustang on allrecipes.com) to give a little more flavor. Worth the little bit of work to put my own work into this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Everybody loves this dip! It makes a lot and is definitely good for large crowds. I added some jalapenos on top. We're putting the leftovers in tortillas, burrito style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Yes it is mild but then again you can kick it up a notch easily for personal taste. This was a hit for my company as not every one is a fan of anything overly spicy. I used a lot more guacamole cause we really like it, used more sour cream, salsa and more olives also. This was hit for our Christmas Party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Glad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenTeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Super bowl sensation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Good but lacking oomph.....maybe try a different salsa next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Godin Noel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Just served 10 youth for progressive dinner appetizers! It was a huge hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Overfelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Every time I've made this I've got rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I like Trader Joe's organic blue corn chips and salsa authentica. I add cilantro, red onion and tomato to the salsa. Extra quacamole and sour cream. Then I serve it at room temperature because I think the ground beef tastes better warm than refrigerator cold. Thank you for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Derek Ashworth
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This came out great everyone loved it and it was simple to follow and make. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Ashworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States