Seven Layer Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I added homemade taco seasoning and a small can of V-8 instead of water to the ground beef to give it some flavor. I also folded in one small can of mild green chilies to the refried beans. The boys loved it, GREAT for Superbowl Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
You can make this with or without the ground beef. Delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've used this recipe before and added more spices to the meat for extra flavor. Try adding 1 tbs red chili powder, 1 diced garlic clove, 1/2 yellow onion diced, and 1 tsp. Adobo seasoning. I usually re-fry the beans in a skillet because it makes them easier to spread. If you are feeling really adventurous make a fresh pot of "dirty beans" the day before and re-fry them to use in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwveloz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
awesome recipe! it's a hit at any party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netbone64

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Went over great at a party. Used retried black beans and skipped the ground beef (there is more than seven layers anyway:). )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Really good recipe. The Hubbs mentioned a layered taco dip he'd make when entertaining (especially in college), and I'd only used the recipe that uses cream cheese and gets baked in the oven before topping with the "cold stuff". I was glad to find this, and The Hubbs said it seemed pretty much to have the same ingredients as he remembered using in the past. Minor changes made: used a packet of Taco Seasoning when browning the ground beef. I also found sliced black olives that had diced ripe (red) jalapenos in them (by a company called Lindsay). I'd picked them up accidentally, but they worked out great with this recipe. I used a multi-cheddar blend as well (I think it contained 4 different types of Cheddar Cheese). No other changes except to use shredded lettuce on top rather than green onion. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this for my bridal shower and it was a huge hit! I upped the sour cream though. It makes A LOT! We had leftovers for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This turned out great! I made homemade refried beans as well & the whole family loved it. All you could hear was chewing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChancyW

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mineral Point, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is a classic recipe. I like to add 1 tsp. of Trader Joe's taco seasoning mix to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is a great, easy recipe. I left out the guacamole since the majority of my family is not a fan of it and then served heated portions of the dip. I've tried serving this at chilled and room temp before but in my opinion, it was much better after heating it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States