Seven Layer Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe, I love the idea of adding the adding lime juice & spices to the beans. So often that bean layer is dense & bland. I wasn't sure about the sour cream & mayo mixture, but it tasted great. I made this for my halloween party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very good...I loved the green chilis and spices in the beans. Next time I will use more avocados & salsa. A big hit at the birthday party I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Easy to make and very tasty. If you are running low on time premade guacamole work well for that layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
You have made me a hero several times over. Sorry I took so long to say so. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This recipe is a hit everywhere I go! I made it for a baby shower and just friends coming over and it is the best! I substituted Mexican cheese for the pepper jack so you can put your own spin on it if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Even better than "regular" seven layer dip - the lime adds really good flavor. I use 2tsp cumin in addition to the 2tsp chili powder in the beans. Also, I just buy the refried beans that already have green chiles in them. I use reduced fat everything, including 50% RF Cabot Jalapeno Cheddar, which I think makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was really good but to cut down on some of the fat, I used low fat sour cream and left out the mayonnaise. I will continue to make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I MADE THIS FOR SUPERBOWL XLI AND EVERYONE LOVED IT!! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I did not have Lime juice like I thought I had. So I ended up making this without lime. It is a 5 star without it, but with it it would be a 6 star. I did us the store made fresh salsa, so I did not add onions since there is plenty in the salsa. CUMIN and Green chilis in the beans give this a good zip! Thanks for sharing. (Hubby is still in the kitchen raving about this dip.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek's Girlfriend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is always a big hit! Instead of using the salsa, I substituted the salsa with a few diced tomatoes. I took this to a few BBQ's and it was completely gone within 1 hour! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States