Seven Layer Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very good...I loved the green chilis and spices in the beans. Next time I will use more avocados & salsa. A big hit at the birthday party I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was really good but to cut down on some of the fat, I used low fat sour cream and left out the mayonnaise. I will continue to make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I did not have Lime juice like I thought I had. So I ended up making this without lime. It is a 5 star without it, but with it it would be a 6 star. I did us the store made fresh salsa, so I did not add onions since there is plenty in the salsa. CUMIN and Green chilis in the beans give this a good zip! Thanks for sharing. (Hubby is still in the kitchen raving about this dip.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek's Girlfriend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Excellent! Although I made some modifications. In the bean layer, I left out the peppers, and added a 1/4 c. or so of chili sauce, and some extra chili pwdr and cumin. For the guac layer, I used only 2 avacados, which was plenty. I added some chunky salsa to the guac as well. I added a ~1/2 pkg of taco seasoning to the sour cream layer for some color and a kick of flavor. I don't like olives, so I drained a can of black beans and put about 1/2 on top for garnish. Overall, it was a BIG hit and everyone loved the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
We were not impressed with this. Maybe I did something wrong. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is always a big hit! Instead of using the salsa, I substituted the salsa with a few diced tomatoes. I took this to a few BBQ's and it was completely gone within 1 hour! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I MADE THIS FOR SUPERBOWL XLI AND EVERYONE LOVED IT!! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Yummy!! Made this for a party and it was gone soooo fast. Now whenever I say I'll bring something, they all say how about that mexican dip you made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza7298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe, I love the idea of adding the adding lime juice & spices to the beans. So often that bean layer is dense & bland. I wasn't sure about the sour cream & mayo mixture, but it tasted great. I made this for my halloween party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This did not go over big with my Thanksgiving crowd. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States