Seven Layer Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Made it for a BBQ yesterday and literally every single person there complimented me on it. Omitted cumin as i do not like it. Added taco seasoning to the white layer, so did not use salt in the other layers. I had made Salsa II previously, so used that as my salsa layer but increased to 2 C to cover. also used 2 C Mexican blend shredded cheese, a large can sliced olives (might do chopped next time), and two whole green onions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Excellent! Although I made some modifications. In the bean layer, I left out the peppers, and added a 1/4 c. or so of chili sauce, and some extra chili pwdr and cumin. For the guac layer, I used only 2 avacados, which was plenty. I added some chunky salsa to the guac as well. I added a ~1/2 pkg of taco seasoning to the sour cream layer for some color and a kick of flavor. I don't like olives, so I drained a can of black beans and put about 1/2 on top for garnish. Overall, it was a BIG hit and everyone loved the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is always a big hit! Instead of using the salsa, I substituted the salsa with a few diced tomatoes. I took this to a few BBQ's and it was completely gone within 1 hour! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Really good layered dip..I left out the chili powder and used my own guacamole recipe...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe, I love the idea of adding the adding lime juice & spices to the beans. So often that bean layer is dense & bland. I wasn't sure about the sour cream & mayo mixture, but it tasted great. I made this for my halloween party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Even better than "regular" seven layer dip - the lime adds really good flavor. I use 2tsp cumin in addition to the 2tsp chili powder in the beans. Also, I just buy the refried beans that already have green chiles in them. I use reduced fat everything, including 50% RF Cabot Jalapeno Cheddar, which I think makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This recipe is a hit everywhere I go! I made it for a baby shower and just friends coming over and it is the best! I substituted Mexican cheese for the pepper jack so you can put your own spin on it if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
You have made me a hero several times over. Sorry I took so long to say so. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I did not have Lime juice like I thought I had. So I ended up making this without lime. It is a 5 star without it, but with it it would be a 6 star. I did us the store made fresh salsa, so I did not add onions since there is plenty in the salsa. CUMIN and Green chilis in the beans give this a good zip! Thanks for sharing. (Hubby is still in the kitchen raving about this dip.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek's Girlfriend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I MADE THIS FOR SUPERBOWL XLI AND EVERYONE LOVED IT!! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States