Seven Layer Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Everyone loved this. I used the food processor to slice everything and it was super fast to assemble. Made a bunch fir the freezer - The first one came out with some undercooked rice - next time I will add more liquid, cook the rice first, or leave it out. Reminds me of tinfoil pouch dinners when camping!l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Grew up eating this in Nova Scotia, it's the real deal! I just usually use frozen peas. I was so happy to find the recipe. The kids will eat it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My mom used to make this often when I was a kid... she did not use any soup though she does now.. very simple .. you might call it plain but I love the simple down to earth flavors.. I have one in the oven now! potatoes, carrots, onions, green peas, rice and raw ground beef. salt and pepper to taste.. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
It's easy to make, and makes a lot of servings, so it's great for weeknight dinner for a large family. It's not very exciting though, as you can see, it's so simple and one dimensional. You might like to add different kind of herbs, spices, or even different kind of sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I will rate this later. It is still in the oven. I followed the directions except I used 1 15 oz. can of peas. For meat I used smoked sausage, all ready prepared little sausage pellets, and left over chicken which I boiled and cut up. I put butter on a couple of layers. All I had for tomatoe soup was the kind you don't add water to...Campbell's Creamy Basil. I added about a cup and a half of cheddar cheese and then added the soup. Smells good. We will soon see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by maskys
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good. I added the two photos. Made the first one earlier today; pretty much to recipe. Making another version that went in the oven the way the second photo appears. I lined the pan with ground burger and then topped it with the potatoes, onions, French onion soup mix, and a can of cream of mushroom soup mixed with a can of milk. Taking it out after an hour and removing the foil and putting it in for another 20 minutes or so, depending on how done it appears and then removing it and topping it with cheese and putting back in for another 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maskys

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Made according to directions except that I used frozen peas instead of canned (I dislike the taste of canned peas, but love frozen). Strictly mediocre all the way. I was thoroughly unimpressed. Needs plenty of salt. I recommend at least 1 tbs of salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. I mixed the soup, water, salt and pepper in a separate bowl before adding so that the salt and pepper were evenly distributed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Really enjoyed this! Same ingredients but added can of mushrooms and a dusting of sage and garlic powder when assembled. I partially browned the sausage, still a little pink, and drained on paper towels to reduce the fat. Also had to be away from home a couple of hours so baked covered casserole on 275 degrees for 2 hrs. Probably will slice potatoes and carrots a little thicker next time but rice was perfect. May also use frozen stir fry veggies as a variation. Can you say, "Pot Luck Dish"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very similar to the seven layer hotdish I loved growing up. Skipped the peas and rice, I sometimes do a quick boil of onions, peppers, and celery which seems to release the flavors faster... Put in a spicy ground pork sausage to kick up the flavor. Glad to add this back into my recipe foldEr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States