Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
This recipe was SO easy. I threw it together in 15 minutes before a Mom's Club luncheon. I got RAVE reviews on it. I made it again for our family Christmas celebration. My mom couldn't stop eating them (I couldn't either!). They were so good, I made them 3 times in 2 weeks for various functions. I have been asked by SEVERAL people for the recipe. KUDOS to the creator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
Very sweet but good. You should really set in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before trying to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
I found this recipe to be way too rich and lacking in overall composition - too much coconut and way too chunky. I will be switching recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
These are pretty good... I make them all the time during the holidays and they are always a hit. Be sure to have some milk or water on hand to wash these down since they are pretty sweet!!!! A very easy recipe to make and a crowd pleaser...be sure to give this one a try!!!! Thanks Patty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Divine! I use chocolate and peanut butter chips, and peanuts. Always a hit anywhere I take them, and, if you need a make and take for a gathering, this couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Good, but the sweetened condensed milk is better if it's poured over the melted butter-graham cracker layers. I suggest cutting it into very small squares, as it is quite sweet. But this is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These turned our really good. The only change I made was to add the butter to the graham cracker crumbs and press into the bottom of the pan to form a crust instead of drizzling the butter over the dry crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I made this for a holiday party at work recently, and it was a huge hit! It is definitely for the sweets lover, but the combination of the butterscotch with the coconut and semi-sweet chocolate really gives them a great flavor. Be careful if you put the bars in the fridge to cool, they can become very hard a difficult to cut. I would advise cooking them the night before and sitting them out to cool instead. Also, don't go wild with the semi-sweet chips, they can overpower the good taste of the other ingredients. Finally, I used regular butter instead of unsalted, and they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These are great bars! I've tried several recipes for these bars and here's what I've learned (some after many failed attempts): 1. Don't buy graham cracker crumbs. Use regular graham crackers and crush them yourself. 2. If you have trouble with the butter not soaking through the cracker crumbs, combine them in a small bowl first and then pat them into the pan evenly. 3. The order of ingredients makes a difference in taste. This recipe puts the coconut on last which makes a great toasted coconut top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This recipe is a little sweet for me but everyone I serve it to absolutely loves it. My favorite way to serve it is warm out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. So delicious and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States