Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made these for office. They where a huge hit. My husband is not a fan of butterscotch so I subsituted peanut butter chips instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Many reviewers mentioned that it was too rich or sweet. I solved that by using dark chocolate in place of semisweet. It perfected this fabulous recipe. I love this recipe. I used margarine as directed. Added graham cracker crumbs and mixed them with the margarine then patted it down. This was difficult because the pan was piping hot. Next time I will melt the butter in the microwave and then mix with crumbs and push evenly in bottom of 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
LOVE this recipe! My mother used to make these cookies every single holiday season. I agree that it's best to use regular graham crackers and crush them yourself. I also agree it's best to mix the graham crackers with the melted butter first, then add it to the bottom of the pan. I used a 13x9 pan and it was almost too little. Maybe next time I'll use 2 packages of graham crackers instead of 1 and 1/2. I love the condensed milk but a whole can is way too much. I think you can get away with 3/4 a can or even 1/2 a can, depending on sweet you like it. But no matter what you do, these cookies are RICH! You can't eat too many at once but they are addicting. They also go nicely over some vanilla ice cream if you crush them up. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
these are the cookies i grew up with. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are very easy to make and taste good. I think next time I make these (and I will because they were so easy) I will figure out some way to cut back on the sweetness. If only there were some semi-sweet butterscotch chips. I may try cutting back on the butterscotch chips and increasing the semi-sweet chocolate chips. That might just work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I've made this recipe many times before, althought I use chocolate graham crackers for the crust...some delicious additions for the sweet-toothed are Chopped pretzels, crushed toffee (heath bars) and obviously peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefChan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very delicous Great for partys and the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
When I make these, they are always the first to go! Everyone asks me what did I do, and I just give them this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
these are great. I put white choc chips and craisins in place of the seni sweet and butterscotch my husband loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States