Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
everyone in the family loves these cookies. wanted to make a batch one day, no graham crackers, cookies or cake mix in the house. made a half batch of shortbread and pre baked. added rest of ingredients and followed the usual directions, great substitution, family loved this variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great recipe. To remove from pan easily, just spray with nonstick spray and they come right out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryna Anton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Very good...I've been making these for years. Has anyone tried mini marshmallows in these? And a chocolate drizzle on the top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Been making these HELLO DOLLY BARS since back in the 70's. My kids grands and gr grands HAVE to have these for Christmas We make all kinds of chips but no coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
this is an awesome easy bar and a big hit always you have to cut them when they are warm though or they are really hard to cut my mom used to make these and that is what we found out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have been making these for over 30 years. We actually prefer vanilla wafer crumbs since we are not graham cracker fans..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Very, very important to use a name brand Coconut the less expensive brands are too dried out. I prefer to use twice as many semi sweet chocolate chips then butterscotch. It gives it a better chocolate taste. The butterscotch should compliment this recipe not over power it. It is a great summertime go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Love it!!! They taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
YUM! What a decadent little bar! Although similar to Denise's easy layer bars, these have one key advantage over hers. I find Denise's bars a tad sweet for my liking. Her recipe calls for more chips and coconut, all of which contribute to the bar's overall sweetness. The ratio of ingredients is spot on here. NOTE: As Tricia Jaeger did, I also spread half of my condensed milk over my graham layer, topped that with chips / nuts and gently pressed everything down. I then topped this layer with the remaining milk and coconut and gently pressed that down too. Finally, I mixed my cracker crumbs and butter together (in a separate bowl) and pressed this mixture into my baking pan. Perfect! Despite these being nearly perfect as is, I do have a couple of observations to share. Be warned - these bars are SUPER rich and VERY, VERY sweet. A little goes a long way!!! I cut a tiny corner piece (smaller than a square) to sample and it left my teeth tingling. :) Additionally, I strongly suggest that you allow your bars to cool (preferably in the fridge) for at LEAST a half hour. My "test" piece was a bit gooey so I heeded to my own advice and the rest of my bars cut perfectly and held their shape nicely. You can store these at room temperature, but just be sure these firm up before you do. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Patty! These are mighty tasty and almost too easy (shhh!!!) to prepare! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used one 14.4 oz box of Graham crackers with 2 cubes of melted butter and baked it on a parchment lined large cookie sheet. This makes the crust a bit thicker and produces more bars. I've often thought there was too much condensed milk if the standard sized 9x13 pan is used, and found there was plenty to cover a larger surface (also reduces the sugar intake). End result tastes the same or perhaps better as it's not too sickly sweet! I live in England and the Brits love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States