Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I did something different. I crushed choc graham crackers to 1 3/4 cups. Then I used 1 cup milk choc chips, 1 1/2 mixed choc and mint chips. I did not use butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Halved the butter and used almonds instead of walnuts. Quick, delish dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars but for the directions. Put the butter in your pan and put the pan in the oven while it's heating to melt. Pour the graham cracker crumbs into the pan, but mix the butter and crumbs together and pat down, or use a small roller. I use one 12 oz bag of chips, then the coconut, then the nuts. I pour the condensed milk over it all. My husbands favorite combination is butterscotch chips and slivered almonds. It's always a hit when I take them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Blair McGinness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
LOVE these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Kids love making these bars! They are just like the bars my grandmother used to make! Mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
very good. very sweet. of course you would already expect that with seven layer bars. i took the advise and mixed my cracker crumbs with the butter and pressed into a well greased glass pan, and put half the condensed milk on the crumb base, and the other half on the top before topping with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
LOVE these bars. I prefer my graham cracker crust to be crisp, so I mix the crumbs with the butter in a bowl, then press into the 9x13 (foil lined) I then pre-bake the crust at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. Then I put all the toppings on and then return to oven at 350 degrees for the 25 minutes. I know that other versions of this recipe say to put the condensed milk directly on the crust. If you want a crisp crust, then dont do that, or it will turn out soggy. Definitely pour it on over the layers (before the coconut). I also used 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs to the 1/2 c. butter, I like a thicker crust and it turned out awesome. I lined the 9x13 with greased foil that draped over the edges of the pan, that way I could easily pull the bars out to cut and serve. This recipe is A+. SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Yum! I made without nuts. They were a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Yummm! I used low fat margarine, low fat graham crackers, chocolate chips, white chips, fat-free sweetened condensed milk and the walnuts and coconut. Absolutely perfect ratio of the chocolate to the graham to the coconut. I'm in love again with this old recipe that I used to make back in the 70's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very, very good, but rich! Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States