Seven Ingredient Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Three hours is unnecessarily long for a simple sauce like this. It will be fine in 30-45 minutes. If you cook meat in the sauce, a longer time is justified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I have a very similiar recipe, try browning some diced pancetta in the olive oil first, remove and brown your garlic and/or onions in the fat. Add the pancetta back to finished sauce. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is the same my families, except my mom would use oregano. Also by caramelizing the tomato paste, I rarely need sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hallmark

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
A tsp of baking soda can eliminate the acidity of the tomatoes. Add while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Super easy and tasty recipe! It makes a great base sauce that you can alter by adding meat, veggies, cheese, spices or spice! Freezes great! In reference to WildBill's comment "...a pretty good recipe, though in the title it says "7" ingredient tomato sauce, but for some reason I count 9 ingredients. They need to rename the recipe or find out which 2 ingredients are not needed and take it out. So is it "7 ingredient" or "9 ingredient" tomato sauce?" Technically this is a 7 ingredient sauce. The second ingredient, tomato, happens to be in three different forms (paste, puree, and crushed). So the title is technically accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I make a sauce that is a carbon copy of this, and a couple years ago started adding a pureed roasted red pepper (roasted in olive oil, 425 degrees). It made what was a good, basic sauce, a whole other beast. Robust and flavorful,really upped the sauces game, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Great basic tomato sauce recipe. Change the 2tsps basil to 2 TBs basil and you'll have no need for sugar & it is much healthier...I'd also add 1 TB oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very good basic recipe. I SKIP the sugar and add grated carrots in its place. Very, very good. Adds the sweetness without adding white sugar. I sauté the carrots with garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
a little trick to lessen the bitterness I learned from watching Giada is to add about a tablespoon of real butter just before serving...still use the sugar too. It does help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
For those who don't like the acidity in tomatoes, an old Italian trick is a pinch of baking soda in the sauce. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States