Seven Ingredient Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Really liked....made homemade meatballs and after browning, let them cook in the sauce for several hours Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Wow, some of the negative reviews for this are so nasty. Gross? This is how red sauce is made. You may not like this recipes, but what's gross about it? I make this same sauce, using different amounts depending on how much I want to make. I always make a big batch and freeze in ball jars, so I never buy store bought sauce. Also, I find that a really good sweet onion diced and cooked really slowly with the garlic will eliminate a need for the sugar. Just make sure you do not burn them. Then add the tomatoe products. I usually simmer my sauce for that long to thicken it. A nice slow process which is why I make a big batch and freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
GROSS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made this recipe today. Way too acidic. Added baking soda, wine and water. Still don't like it. Maybe one less can of puree substituted for diced tomatoes would have been better. Going to continue playing with it until its to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
There frankly wasn't much flavor to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I use tomatoe sauce instead of crushed my family prefers a smooth sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
need meat,beef,pork,chicken,and lamb, fry up and add to the pot,pour sauce on top mix well ,cook on low heat for two hrs.one hr in add garlic one clove per 32 oz's,and basil one table spoon for every 32 oz's of sauce,and red wine half a cup. let the person add salt to this own dish if they want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
What is the difference between crushed tomatoes and tomato puree?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is almost exactly my family recipe for red sauce. A few changes; we add 1 chopped onion, sauteed with garlic. No sugar, we use a carrot; peeled and cut into big pieces that can be removed later to sweeten sauce. Also, 1/2 peeled potatoe (to be removed later) to cut down on acid & salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It is what it says it is!!!! Yummy!!!!!! Quick, easy, tasty! Perfect when your in a hurry and want full flavor!! I use home canned tomatoes so I would recommend a good brand of tomatoes....makes all the difference! Also I omit the sugar as home canned don't seem to need it, but I love love love this simple recipe! Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States