Seven Ingredient Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great, simple and easy. I make this in a crockpot and use 3 finely grated carrots instead of the sugar. Turns out great and freezes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Yes I just would like to you should definitely use almost a tsp. of sugar to help w/ the acidity of the tomatoes, and to make sure if you are using meatballs and spareribs to cook them for the full three hours in the sauce!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Great! Easy and just like my nana's. I froze the rest and later used it in cacciatore with peppers and onions and chili so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Instead of garlic I use onions. I think the garlic contrbutes to the bitterness which is why sugar is needed. I have never had to use sugar. Make sure you stir the paste constantly so it cooks. I also add I can of water which also cut down on the acidity but still keeps the sauce thick. This is my Italy born mother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
The recipe reminds me of my italian friends regular sauce. I added a little of oregano, because the sauce was a little sweet. I also added some italian link sausages. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is my favorite tomato sauce and it's great as is! Works wonderfully in lasagna and is delicious on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Pretty good basic tomato sauce. I didn't have tomato puree, so I omitted it. I also omitted the salt. As for the minced garlic, pepper, dried basil, and sugar, I eyeballed it. I also added 1/2 sauteed chopped onion and a good amount of dried spices from my Italian jar. Oh, and I cooked it nowhere near 3 hours; more like 20-30 minutes until I got impatient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It is a pretty good recipe, though in the title it says "7" ingredient tomato sauce, but for some reason I count 9 ingredients. They need to rename the recipe or find out which 2 ingredients are not needed and take it out. So is it "7 ingredient" or "9 ingredient" tomato sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love this sauce! I saute diced onion with the garlic as well. I also add some oregano and bay leaves. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very easy and very good. Will keep these ingredients in the cupboard for a quick company dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States